Saturday, Oct. 08, 2005 11:40 am

Hook 'Em Horns!

I am going to write this morning before things get exciting with the Texas/OU game. I do have the TV on and am gearing up for the game! I love these big games. Partly, I want it all to be nail-biting and back-and-forth and fun to watch, but I also want the assurance that Texas will win. I realize how silly it is to get so involved in a game, but, then again, it's fun. I wish I had someone watching it with me, but it would have to be someone that doesn't mind that I am in my pajamas and I'm not playing hostess for them. That would only be family, obviously, so I'll call Mom in a while and talk football while I eat cheese dip.

The cold weather yesterday was fabulous. I said on the air that a new girl at work had moved here in January so that this was her first autumn. And I hope she enjoyed that 20 minutes on Thursday. Otherwise, we went straight from 90 degree summer days to 55 degree winter days. It was wonderful. People at work really dug into the cedar chest for their wardrobes: I saw turtlenecks, heavy sweaters, knit panchos, sweatshirts, and boots!

Last night I met up with Grace and we ate dinner at El Azteca and went to see Willie at Stubb's. It was a lot of fun. Willie didn't have the full family. Jody Payne was not playing. It made for a very different, less full sound for the band. But, on the other hand, Willie was playing lead guitar and singing all the vocals. When I saw him in March he was letting Jody do a lot of that, which worried me. Last night his guitar playing was stellar and it sounded like his carpal tunnel surgery was hugely successful. Kim Wilson of the T-birds came out and played a lot of songs at the end, so, instead of twin fiddles, we had twin harmonicas.

The weather was ideal. I had a sweatshirt on over my t-shirt, but I pulled it off before the night was through, it was plenty warm.

Mark did John Mayall's show last night and said it was excellent. He had met them all in Europe when Guy's band opened for them in Norway, so he enjoyed visiting with the drummer again and becoming reacquainted. We both were exhausted when we got home last night. It was nice to go to bed with the cool weather.

This morning I have the fireplace lit to take the chill off of the house. Outside weather is perfect with sunshine and 60 something degrees. Inside a little chillier. It is almost kick-off time, so I'm going to go become immersed.

Hook 'em! (lord, I don't want to hear about it all week if they lose)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland