Friday, Oct. 07, 2005 10:28 am

Cold finally

It is finally really cool. Really fall-like with memories of cold Colorado and New Mexico and Texas Panhandle mornings. I love it (temporarily). I found myself getting mad at my weatherman yesterday because it wasn't cool. I came to work in long sleeves and the sun was bright and it was warm. Certainly cooler than it had been, but no front had hit. Through the afternoon the temperature dropped a bit, but not drastically. But, when I left the station, it was decidedly cooler with the wind whipping in and finally FINALLY felt like fall.

This morning I even had on the houseshoes and the sweatshirt while I drank my coffee and read the paper and watched a spit or two of rain hit the window. I feel like my mother on these mornings. She always wore houseshoes and a housecoat over her pajamas. She'd usually make oatmeal or something substantial for breakfast on the cold days. And, in her housecoat, she would go outside in the snow and scrape our windshield or help de-ice the car for us. She always seemed impervious to the cold. Now, looking back, maybe she just knew the faster she got us off to school, the sooner she could go inside and be cozy and drink her coffee, eat her cereal in peace, and write her letters to her mother and sisters. That was her usual routine.

Last night I went to see Seth's band open for the T-birds at Antone's. It was a fun night. My friend MM was supposed to come, but she flaked out. She at least called me to say she was flaking out and I appreciated that and understood. Once Mark was through playing we spent the rest of the evening together anyway, so that was very very nice. Jimi is the nicest drummer in the world. He asked about me before I got there and was happy to see me again, it seemed. He is such and amazing drummer, too. I was just enthralled watching him. I think I really saw a better "show" on the eastside when they just showed up, but this was a packed house and lots of energy and Kim Wilson was with them, of course, which is "the voice" of the T-birds. I got to introduce Mark to Clifford, too, and that was cool.

It was neat after Mark's band play to hear the comments in the audience. I heard two different unrelated people saying how good they were and how they would like to hear more of that. Good feedback.

Mark is up and out early this morning to go load in a gig at the Paramount. I'm up early, therefore, too. But, my morning is getting away from me already and I need to get to work. Lots of drama going on there with the morning guys, so I need to go check into today's edition.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland