Saturday, Oct. 06, 2007 12:44 pm

Dog Rescuer!

Saturday is here. Hooray. I'm not hungover, but I'm dragging this morning, but the wonderful thing it, it is almost noon and it doesn't matter if I am still in my pajamas... I don't have to rush off to the station half ready.

Worked late last night and then met up with M&M and we ate a good hamburger at Fran's. Sat and talked and then went back to the Continental Club. I thought, for some reason, that Wanda was going to start at 10. But it was past 10 and Elana James and her excellent band were playing. Mark arrived and said, no, we're starting at midnight. Augh. How do these people do that? But, we were there and then the time did start to go faster. My drumming friend Conrad came along with a fiddle player Amy and it was great to see him again. I guess it has been over a year since we saw each other, though we've talked. He is a special guy.

The show itself was interesting. I wish she still knew how to move a show and keep the energy up and strong, but she stopped and told stories and reminisced and then sang. She had to yell at Mark one time when he started too early. She said "Help me" and he thought she said "Hit me." But the guitar player started too early a couple of times, so it was catching. The whole band was thrown together so it was amazing that they could do it at all. Even Conrad leaned back one time and said, "Mark has his work cut out for him." Some of the tempos changed several times within the song, etc. Quite a challenge, but he was up for it and did fine. He'll go with them to the other Continental tonight.

I had an experience coming home. I was on the big wide street back behind our house and saw a dog out loose on the street. I went on down the street a few blocks and decided I couldn't leave him there, I didn't know what to do, but I went back and stopped. It was a big chow and he was lethargic and just standing there, not scared of me, but not coming to me either. I went over and saw that he was matted terribly. He hadn't just gotten out of someone's yard, he had been out for days and days. I couldn't feel a collar and about that time he kind of snapped at me, which scared me. So I called the 311 number you call for help. Meanwhile a girl stopped and she was trying to help and then a woman stopped and she was willing to stay (and did). Several other cars came through and asked what was going on, and then went on. The 311 operator said that she would have animal control call me in a few minutes. So the girl went on and the woman stayed in her car and talked to me and we watched the dog and slowed cars down as they came through so that they wouldn't hit the poor thing. Then a police officer came by to see what we were doing. He called it in and then he pulled around and kept his car behind the dog so it wouldn't get hit. The dog was in pain, obviously, and had no strength at all. He wandered up the street and the policeman stayed behind him and would put his flashlight on him as cars came through so they wouldn't hit him. Then another officer came through and he really was good with dogs and he got the dog put in the first officer's backseat and they took him to the shelter. I wouldn't be surprised if the poor thing had to be put down today, but that is better than him starving or getting hit on the road. I'm so glad I didn't end up with him in my backyard. I thought about taking him home, but with no dog food and not knowing how to care for a sick animal like this, I would have been in trouble. I hope that poor puppy had a home and that they were looking for him and the shelter called them immediately. Maybe he is being taken care of.

Mark will be leaving for Houston soon and I will watch football and clean house. I plan on working on the quilt today, too. I will accomplish a LOT today, I can feel it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland