Thursday, Oct. 06, 2005 9:59 am

Cool front

The front is almost here. It is breezy and cooler, but I think the real brunt is coming in an hour or two. I hope there's more to it. I'd like some rain. God? Are you listening?

I had Clifford Antone on my show yesterday. What a nice man. I had met him before, but had never really had a conversation, and he was a great interview. I hope I can have him on again sometime. And I would love to take one of his classes. What a brain-ful of knowledge!

I went to my friend's CD release last night. It frustrates me to no end when things are advertised for a specific time and it doesn't happen then. I've gotten used to it for late shows, but when an early show is advertised for 8 pm, I'd like things to begin at 8 pm. I was doing work, but I closed up shop and went, only to find other musicians I didn't know tuning up and on stage and working slowly with the sound man. I almost left. Finally stuck around a little more and my friend came along. They finally got started playing at 8:45. By then I was already tired and bored. I stayed for three really long jazz songs and then moved on.

I did go to the Spoke for the benefit for a little while. Lots of people I know were there and it is more fun to be at these things when I am not in an official capacity. I got to see the bus sticking in the side of the building, too. And to talk to one of the men on board that night. I told him how happy I was he was alive.

Mark made a cool haul at a garage sale yesterday. Through someone else he heard about this estate sale in progress. He went and found so many cool eBayable things (is that a word?). And he got them all for about $20. The prices were unreal. He got a fabulous lamp for us for $1.50! We've been looking up things on the internet about the other stuff. One is a beautiful Roseville vase. Looking up pictures of fakes, I don't think that it is. It has a couple of chips, so it may not have the value that many Rosevilles have, but it is fun to dream.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland