October 06, 2002 10:57 pm

A Day Off

I wrote a long entry the other day about the radio hell I had gone through at the beginning of the week but for some reason it never posted on this website. Things seem to be getting shaky at Diaryland and I hate that! I hope this one appears where it should be--even though it won't appear in the older entries list apparently. Don't know if they'll ever get that list straightened out again.

I'm watching Zig Ziglar on C-Span on their Booknotes show. Interesting to see him speaking again. I worked him for four years in the late 80s (seems SO long ago now). That was certainly an interesting period of time. That was NOT a job I would go back to or get into in the first place if I had known at the beginning what I knew at the end, but I learned a lot and I got to see a lot of the U.S. with that job.

I finally had a day off yesterday. What a wonderful thing it was. It only happened because the football came early enough that it pre-empted my whole show. I shopped a little, ate lunch my myself at a good South First Mexican joint, bought groceries... Then my sister and family arrived. The boys stayed for the night while my sister and her husband went to a wedding in San Antonio. We took the boys to the Continental Club to see Redd Voelkert play guitar. My younger nephew has an electric guitar and he was inspired.

Today I worked again. They all watched the Cowboy game. My sister came into town to join me and we went to the bookstore. They left when we got back home so I've had a nice evening mostly by myself again.

Now I am considering going to the Continental to see HeyBale. Or I may stay home, take a hot bath, read, and enjoy more solitude. I'm realizing that I require a lot more solitude than I get. And I think it needs to be solitude when I choose to have it, not necessarily when it is "given" to me or forced upon me.

I hope this one makes it on the site. At least I will be smart enough to save it before it goes to upload.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland