Monday, Oct. 05, 2009 9:15 am

Weekend Over Quick

Monday morning and we should hear from the doctor today. That may make for another sad day.

Yesterday I got up, Mark still gone, and Nathan had been asleep on the guest bed when I went to bed. I left him there since he was content. I went to check on him and he was still curled up asleep. I laid down beside him and started talking to him. He readjusted and sat up and looked at me a bit from that position. Then he curled up again, but this time closer to me, touching me, and put his little head on my shoulder. Then, to really break my heart, he reached out his little paw to by underarm/breast and patted me. I bawled. I just hate the thought of him not being here keeping me company and entertaining us and giving us something to talk about. Mark came home and I let him and Nathan have their naptime alone so he could have his tears and privacy with his boy. We talked some about what we will do, but we won't think about it more until we have the diagnosis.

I didn't have any paid work to do this weekend, which is so weird. I need it to give me some structure to my weekend. I got email from Bob that the voicetracking had screwed up so for me not to come up there yesterday to track. I hope they get it straightened out. My check is up there waiting on me, too. I didn't have any reports to type. Of course, I had thought about going to the office and getting a few more hours in, but I didn't accomplish that. Didn't do anything at home for that job either, which I could have done. Oh well. Each week I have high hopes of getting 30 hours in and I haven't yet. Today I expect I'm not going to work.

I will say I got a lot accomplished on the house. The linen closet looks great--all folded and clean and sweet smelling and spare. The guest bed is clean. The kitchen is clean (along with the pantry and bowl cabinet). If only my OFFICE were all clean. I'm getting there and threw away a ton of papers and have a big sack that needs to be shredded. I will work on it a little more this morning.

I made pies last night, too. Two apple so Mark and I could start one and we'd still have the other for company today. I used Johnnagold apples and Gala, but they seem a little too mushy. I need to read up and remember what isn't mushy. Mark just thinks i need more practice. This one was a great pie, I will say and I'm getting to where I can put them together pretty quickly. I think another key factor is to scoop the apples into the piecrust with a slotted spoon and let most of the juice drip away. Otherwise the pie is too gushy.

I got even more sad news yesterday. It just keeps piling up (I probably haven't even written in here that our friend Bill Hetzler was killed in a motorcycle wreck a couple of weeks ago and Mark's aunt Margaret is in hospice care in OKC). Yesterday Paula wrote to tell me that Winston has leukemia. He'll be going through a hard week of chemo this week that is hard to survive she said.

Mark brought me some friend chicken from Allen's last night. He ate there again and it was much much better than Friday night. He had a good weekend and enjoyed the Ray Sawyer show a lot, despite the rain.

I was very glad I didn't have to go to ACLFest this weekend. Mud everywhere and rain all day Saturday. None of the headliners made me thing, Oh I've always wanted to see them! Not a line-up designed to entice 50-year-olds to the park.

The Dallas Cowboys broke my heart yesterday. After a full game (again) of leading Denver, they blew it and let them get ahead and then, though they were down on the goal line, they couldn't score (which is fine because they probably wouldn't have gotten the extra point and still would have lost). I'm looking for a new favorite team.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland