Tuesday October 5, 2004 11:26 pm

Sad news

Some really heartbreaking news today. My dearest cousin, the one in that I stay with in Amarillo who has had a hellish year with her dad's illness and death, her mother-in-law's death, and the long horrible court trial to get guardianship of her children's grandmother to protect her interests... that dear cousin has cancer. NO ONE in our family gets sick. No one dies before they pass 90. The only family (blood) death in the past 50 years other than the old old folks was my older brother who died at two months old. Everyone else has genes that protect us. So why did she get cancer? And it isn't simple one-place cancer. She has a malignant tumor in her breast and spots on her pelvis and her spine and her leg. It doesn't sound promising at all. I don't know if it is the Lex*pro or the fact that I'm in denial, but I'm not taking it in yet, I feel. I'm not distraught, I'm not crying like I did when I found out my old roommate had breast cancer. I'm just letting it sink. I am not quite all here, but not grieving. I don't know if that is good or bad.

Other than that I am just working like a madwoman to get ahead and have time to think about clothes and supplies for the trip. I hope there is some packing time ahead of me tomorrow or Thursday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland