Wednesday, Oct. 03, 2007 11:37 am

Benefits

I am enjoying the house and porch all alone this morning. I may enjoy it more when Mark is close by, but it is nice to have time by myself, too. He had to be up and out by 6:30 this morning for a private party gig. He was out late last night with a HAAM benefit gig, so he will be worn out today. I hope he gets to come home for a nap sometime.

My day yesterday was pretty uneventful. Mark brought me home the coolest shirt, though. It is burnt orange and has the famous picture of Johnny Cash flipping off the camerman, except that instead of flipping him off, he is giving the Hook 'Em Horns sign. Pretty awesome shirt. I will wear it today and maybe every day this week!

Last night I went up the street to a METV party for HAAM. The band was supposed to be good, but their sound check took absolutely fucking forever and I was sick of being there by the time they got ready to start. I heard part of a song and decided I could live without them this time and I left. I enjoyed visiting with a lawyer that used to come to the cafe regularly and had a sweet young son that is now in college. He is the chairman of HAAM. The mayor was also very nice. KK from work was there, but M&M didn't get to come because one of her dogs attached another of her dogs and she had to go to the vet and stay home with her attacked puppy. That's not good!

I did come home at a decent hour and went to work on the quilt and actually finished two sides of it. I am still stumped on what to do with the corners, so I'm afraid they are going to be goofy. I need a class in mitering corners.

I wish it weren't already almost noon. I want to work on some logs here at home, but before that I want to clean the kitchen and get dressed for work and clean off this desk, etc. etc. There just isn't enough time in the day.

Oh, I guess my big excitement (money excites me) yesterday was when I was offered a job at the cafe to continue the music introductions like I did last year. They were so easy to work with last year that I am happy to do it, and it is a great line-up so I had planned on being at all of them anyway. So extra cash in hand through October is a very good thing.

Odd thing at work yesterday... Ellie comes in to give me some work information and say hi. She asks about my weekend so I tell her about the reunion. Immediately, the tall gay boy that works outside my door jumps up and says "reunion? how many years?" and comes in and plops himself down in my office! Unbelievable. She and I were in shock at his rudeness, really. We continue the conversation a minute and then I switch it back to work related and she says goodbye and goes. He stays for a while, commenting on his lack of work. I had no lack of work and I guess I conveyed that because he left. I like the kid, but he needs to learn some office etiquette.

Now, my salespeople are prone to coming in and plopping down, but they pay me well, so I'll let them. One, the little Irish one, came in Monday and asked about the old man in the morning. He had a hip replaced last week and no one has heard a word. So I called him again and this time he answered. But oh, he was cranky cranky. We only talked a minute and then he sort of hung up on me, but it doesn't sound like he's doing well. He is at home, at least. But maybe that's not a good thing if he is in pain.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland