Monday, Oct. 03, 2005 10:18 pm

The Party

Lots has gone on since I wrote yesterday. It was a busy day. I got the house back in order and cleaned in preparation for Mark's return. Most sitcoms show husbands home alone and how they make the house a wreck. No, that's not real life. Not at my house. I'm the slob. Mark is gone for 24 hours and suddenly there are clothes and shoes and newspapers and dirty dishes in EVERY room in the house... even rooms I never set foot in when he is home. How does that happen? So, I got things back in order and serene once more.

Had a nice short visit with Greg for our monthly journal writers group. Just us again, but we always have good conversation. Next month will be six years since that first journal writers group and six years since I started this journal. That's a lot of kvetching!

The big event yesterday was the anniversary party for our morning team. It was a HUGE event. I had no idea it would be so big. Honestly, I had pictured it being in the front room of the Spoke and our staff just kind of milling around waiting for a listener or two to wander in and visit for a minute and go on. I wanted to get there at four so that it wouldn't be empty. Whew! I got there to find no parking and the place was packed... front and back. The food line stretched to the front door. And the place stayed packed until the very end. I felt a little claustrophobic at times, but I can see that it was worse for the honorees. They did escape to the bus a few times just to get away. Everyone wanted a piece of them, everyone wanted to tell a story, everyone wanted to have their full attention for as long as they could get it.

The most interesting event of the day happened after the party was over and most of us had gone on home. A few (including half the team) were leaving in the big tour bus when it had a stuck gas pedal or something and went surging into the corner of building. The woman driving is very lucky that she is alive. She could have easily been decapitated. Everyone was rescued through the roof of the bus. It could have been a tragedy, but fortunately ended up being something we could all joke about.

I did hear from CGP about his not showing up Saturday night. Says he got home at 830 and fell asleep and woke up at 130. Need I say that doesn't make me feel any better? So he gets home from work at the time he knows I'm going to be AT the club and he lives, easily, 45 minutes from the club, yet he somehow ends up asleep? I think I would be more understanding if he had said "I'm sorry." I won't be extending any invitations again. Not that I invited him Saturday, he invited himself. I certainly won't be putting him on the guest list.

Today was a non-eventful day. Mark got in very late last night from Corpus. After a weekend of hard work in the heat and humidity and having a motel with bad water pressure and crickets in the bed (ick!) he was SO happy to be home. It's great to have him home, too.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland