October 03, 2003 9:50 pm

Exhuasted

Will I ever get well? I like being sick when you have that moment where you turn the corner and you feel WELL, you feel ALIVE, you feel better than you've felt in months and you are almost glad you were sick to have that contrast. I have been sick for most of two weeks and I haven't turned that corner yet. All I can say is that I have a voice again so there is no reason I can't be working. So I am.

Well, technically, I guess I begin my vacation tonight. I worked like a dog tonight so that I do not have to go back into the office anytime in the next five days (hope hope).

I was sick in bed, completely unable to function through last Sunday. Monday I dragged back to work and began the usual routine despite utter exhuastion. Tuesday my folks came to town. They are easy company and there is not a lot of entertaining to be done. There are no late nights running them around to the latest discos. All we did while they were here was eat dinner out each night and get up and have coffee and sweet rolls (that they provided). It couldn't be easier. It was still exhuasting.

They were here for my grandmother's 97th birthday celebration yesterday. A celebration I didn't attend because of work and, let's say, too, because I was sick. Yes, that's it, I wouldn't want her or my one-year-old cousin to catch what I have so I didn't go.

They left and I thought I would catch up a bit at work but our friend and best man came through town and we went to dinner with him. Pleasant, but, again, utterly exhuasting. Obviously, these nights were not exhuasting, my threshold is just very very low.

Now, my sister comes to town tomorrow and we escape the city. We are going out of town and going to a motel and sleeping. We will do nothing that requires effort. We may come back to Austin before our time is up, but she insists that, if we do, we are staying in a hotel here, too, and not worrying about responsibilities like feeding my animals. That sounds like a workable plan. Maybe we'll go west and go to Alpine. I'd like that a lot. Tomorrow we'll discuss it more.

I'm going to bed. You can't stop me.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland