Monday, Oct. 31, 2005 10:48 am

Halloween

Mark woke up to a migraine, which is such a drag for him. Poor thing. I guess it is a good thing he had it today and not yesterday because he discovered his medicine wasn't in his bag (that he always carries), but in the kitchen. I think he is having it because he has the day off (except for the gig tonight). It seems like when he is going and going he does fine, but then when he has a minute to let down, the brain gives up on him for a while. He hasn't had a migraine in a long time, though, knock on wood. He used to have the often.

It is Halloween. We need more candy. I bought several bags at the grocery yesterday, but it looks like a small amount once you get it out of the bags. Mark will be here giving the candy away and he wants to have more than enough.

I hope I can go back on the air today. I haven't tested it this morning, but it is always better in the morning anyway. Please, God, let me have my voice today. It has been two solid weeks since the botox. If it is going to be this bad on a low dose, I guess next time I may as well get the biggest dose he wants to offer and know that I'll have several weeks of transition. If this isn't going to last long, what's the point. Everything is so unpredictable.

I started the book by the novelist I met Saturday. I am so critical....especially when I've met an author. I admire that she has written a book and I am in awe that she is published, but, if I were the editor, I would have asked for some tweaking. There is just too much introspection and self-talking. The whole novel starts after a police shooting. I think it could have started there (with her thinking about the shooting) but should have immediately gone back and showed the shooting. Or just start with the damn shooting. Starting a novel with someone looking in the mirror is cliche (at least that was what I was taught). I know, I know, you're saying, well, YOU show US how it is done, Miss Won't-Let-Anyone-Read-Your-Novel. And that is exactly WHY I won't let anyone read my novel... I know it has too many of these lame sentences that make you stumble as you read. It's very hard to find and edit those yourself. Maybe on the novel I start at midnight tonight I will do better.

I hope we get some rain today. We had that one lovely day of rain in October and otherwise it seems like it has been dry forever. Two hurricanes close enough to worry about and we didn't get any rain at all from them.

Okay, now I'm just rambling. Tomorrow I will not be able to ramble except in my novel.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland