Thursday, Oct. 30, 2008 11:18 am

Catch up again

I need to get back in the habit of daily notations here. I WANT to have a diary of the deadly dull stuff because otherwise how will I remember when I made the biscuits or bought a plant or got the oil changed? I write some big stuff in the other blog, but the daily stuff needs to go here.

Especially when I'm aggravated with someone, which, fortunately, I am not at the moment. I am feeling a little hopeless and down, but I think it will pass. Work is a tomb because MM is out of town, but I don't want her to come back either. I am so ambivalent in my feelings toward her. She is exciting and interesting and my best friend, yet she is shallow and less than interested in me, I feel, and so flaky in so many ways. But she is paying me to sit in the office and play Spider, so I need to appreciate that. No one else is.

I went to see Jack last night and I loved it. The show was still heavy on his new stuff, which is okay, but doesn't have the same connection to me as the old....but then, it took a while to develop that connection with the old, too. I loved seeing Kyle and Drew and Robert and Pete and George and Sarah. Jack just surrounds himself with people that are good. And he was genuinely happy to see me and that made me feel like a million bucks. It was six years ago TODAY that I first met him up close and had our sweet interview. Those were really good days.

I hope my old boss gets fired tomorrow. I really do. There are rumors and tomorrow would be the day since it is the end of the week and the pay period. I hate to hold grudges and be bitter and hateful.

M&T came down Friday night and we went to B's races Saturday morning. B's heart has been racing even before exercise and that has us all concerned about his health. He went back to Dallas and was very sick over the weekend and didn't go back to school until Monday. He leaves tonight to go to Indiana for another race. I hope he's taking care of himself.

Mark went with me to a party Friday night. I note that so I don't get bitchy later about us not doing stuff together. We went to Lucky's birthday and it was a fun celebration. We didn't have too many people to really visit with, but enough, and the fireworks and the food were excellent, plus just getting to enjoy that house and setting is enough.

I have been SO eat up with genealogy in the last few weeks. I don't think I've noted here my biggest discoveries. I've had three great amazing breakthroughs. One--- I discovered my grandparents were third cousins! They had the same great-great-grandfather. And I suppose they never had a clue. And, how could you, really? I know Papa didn't know much about his family at all and this was pretty far back there. Second-- I discovered I'm cousins with Elvis, seriously! Through the Hood family. How great. Of course, the common ancestor was in 1670, so we weren't Kissing Cousins (get it? That was a movie of his!! hahaha--- I kill myself). Third--- I finally found out how I am related to James Fannin, the Texas hero. He and my great-great-great grandmother were first cousins. I've always known she was a Fannin and the story was that she was his daughter, but I found that that couldn't be because of their ages (only about 12 years apart). I finally found the information to show how they were related.

Another interesting experience. I went to Billy's funeral last week at the cafe. Interesting funeral. I miss him. But I was talking to Dub about my relationship to the author of the Aggie War Hymn and he dragged me over to meet a cousin! Gary is nephew of that guy, a cousin of mine. In fact, we have the same great-great grandfather --so the same relationship that my grandparents had to each other. So, see? Easily you might NEVER know that you were related to someone even though you share heritage.

I had a guy, Egon, a disc jockey, share with me at the funeral that Billy loved me and thought I was the greatest and should be back in radio and he had boycotted since I got fired. Then I got a myspace message from the guy Billy lived with and was taken care of by in his last days. He also said that Billy kept telling him that we needed to meet and that I was the coolest girl. That makes me feel so good. I always felt a connection with Billy, probably because of our age more than anything. He and I were the same age among all this younger generation. I wish I had known more about his education and knowledge while he was alive. I knew he was smart, but I had no idea. I truly wish we had gotten together more while he was here, but I can see why we didn't. Time, distance, circumstance. It just didn't happen. But when I did see him at Hill's or Midnight Rodeo or wherever, it was always a great conversation and such a nice human being.

Mark had a nosebleed last night. He has never had one since I've known him, I don't think. I hope it doesn't mean high blood pressure or something. I think it may just be dry air and allergies and a lot of sneezing and blowing his nose. It stopped and he's been fine since.

I made biscuits the other night and want to try them some more. They were very good. I had to have buttermilk to make them and I won't often have buttermilk, so that may prevent future batches, I don't know.

And I haven't set up my day of the dead alter yet. I hope I get that done before Sunday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland