Friday, Oct. 28, 2005 10:57 am

Weekend planning

I keep intending to start a list of things that I hate. I know that is negative, but the thoughts keep popping up. I hate when people tell me all about a TV show I've never watched and never intend to watch. A co-worker did that yesterday about one of the war/soldier/blood series that is on HBO or some cable channel. I can't find time to watch my favorite shows. I'm not going to seek out a new show to watch and I really don't care if the Marines were (fictionally) ambushed or not. I really really hate when people describe a cartoon show to me that I have never seen. Believe me, people, you cannot do voices like Mike Judge or Harry Shearer, so don't try! I also discovered yesteray I don't care for it much when two people start recounting an old episode of Seinfeld. Sure, I saw every episode of Seinfeld, but I didn't catalogue them in my head and commit them to memory and I see no reason why YOU did either. Okay, that's enough of that complaint for today.

Mark just left for work and Corpus and then Wimberly and then San Antonio. I won't see too much of him this weekend. I keep toying with the idea of going to Dallas, but I wish I could be two places at once. I would love to go to the book festival. I didn't go last year and I do enjoy it and I have a commitment to meet an author there tomorrow, too, for her to give me her books. I also would enjoy gardening this weekend. After looking at a lot of my old photos and seeing what a beautiful garden I used to have in Dallas, I want to garden! We have a beautiful place here, too, just a lot less ground, which means I should have every inch of it looking cool, but I don't. We have company coming next week and he is the horticulturist, so I would like to have things a little more cared for. He'll give us lots of good advice, which is great, he really knows his stuff. And, the other main reason for NOT going to Dallas is that the real reason to go is for my nephew's senior night with the band tonight at the football game and I don't think I could make it in time for that. I know I'm not going to be on the air and I have most of my other work done, but there are a few things I usually can't do until about 5 pm on Friday. If I wanted to go I need to be packing right now. Decisions, decisions.

On the other hand, my parents are spending the weekend at my sister's house and it would be easy to see everyone all together for the whole weekend. But close quarters, too. If I don't see them this weekend I probably won't see the parents until Thanksgiving. Sister and family are coming this way for a band competition next weekend so I will see them next week. The next week (already???) is older nephew's 18th birthday and I'm committed to things here. Shit. What are we going to get him that shows how much we love him and shows we realize that he has achieved "adulthood" (at least in theory)?

My mind is just rambling, obviously. It is so great to have a keyboard under my fingers again and a place to write stuff. I missed my computer!

I'll start the NaNoWriMo on Monday night at midnight (or Tuesday. Or Thursday. . .) I told my friends in the group yesterday about my ambition and they had never heard me talk about writing dreams so they were shocked and amazed that I would even attempt something like this. They will be my biggest encouragers, I'm sure. I need to give some thought this weekend to my plot. I really really do.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland