October 29, 2002 5:34 am

Dallas Weekend

It is the middle of the night. It is just a lost cause to try to sleep during Mark's snoring when I have had a little bit of a "nap" before he chooses to come to bed. Very frustrating because I'm moderately tired and I know this will be a very long day and I really would like to be sawing logs like his is right now.

Great weekend in Dallas. Much too short. I only spent two hours with my parents and I wanted to stay all day. I know they wanted me to stay all day, too. I didn't get up there until very late Friday night so I went to my sister's and spent the night there since it is closer. Saturday I visited with her some then made the quick run up to the folks, but then had to run back to go to my nephew's marching band competition. He doesn't march right now, he's a freshman, but it was fun to see one of his activities.

My other nephew is in the sullen, "leave me alone" teenage years. He has become pretty amazing on the guitar, though. He got the guitar two months ago on his birthday. I heard him practice and play last month. Since then he has really improved tremendously. And he can pick out ANYTHING on the guitar. We were witnessing it and not believing it. No fumbling, very little hunting for a note, he just PLAYS IT. How is that possible? We were teasing him about playing behind his head, ala Jimi Hendrix. He put the guitar behind his head and then I said, "Play Deep in the Heart of Texas." He did! With the guitar behind his head. I can't wait until Rolling Stone wants to interview me and I can say, "Yes, I remember when he was just 13 and we were amazed at his playing!"

Mark played in Dallas Saturday night and my sister and I went down to give him the car and see him for a bit. She hadn't seen the band and was duly impressed. Duly. Is that a word? It looks funny on the screen, but it is 5:40 in the freakin' morning.

Mark joined me after the gig at my sister's. Sunday we stayed for lunch and most of the Cowboy game, waiting for Emmitt to get the all-time leading rusher crown. It's a shame he got it and the touchdown and then they still managed to lose the game. Poor Emmitt.

On our way home we made our usual boring detour by the pawn shop of a friend for Mark to do drum stuff. I hate that stop. Nothing for me to do but read or nap and wait. Which I did for over an hour. I was ready to call Mark and remind him he had a gig that night, but I figured he was old enough to look at his own watch. He didn't stay much longer, but he sure didn't have any down time when we returned to Austin. He got home, loaded up, and headed back uptown.

Today was back to work for the last frustrating week of limbo. I barely saw the boss today and never spoke so no sign from him. He did tell one of the cadidates last week that he was out of the running. I had told that candidate the same thing myself the day before because he had been offered another good job elsewhere and I felt he should take it. So, now it is narrowed down to me and a couple I know about and who knows who else?

I am even more certain today that I do not want to be the boss. Driving in from Dallas I listened to the weekender that was on the air. He completely changed what was on the log and was doing his own free-form show, apparently, that really sucked. I don't know why he felt the liberty to completely change everything. The full-timers that change things do so with a respect for the format and the structure that is set up. Not this guy. If I were the boss, I would have been on the phone to him and chewing him up. That is not good management technique. But I don't like to lose that control over what I'm responsible for. Ah, another topic for the therapist's couch this week.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland