Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2010 8:38 am

Sports Fever

Tonight the Rangers play in the World Series. That is very exciting. I miss living in the Metroplex to see the vendors on the street and have everyone talking about it. People here are interested, but it isn't the same. I will be home for the whole event tonight, I hope.

Meanwhile, the Cowboys are worse than ever. Losing Monday night after starting off with a couple of great interceptions and a long kick-off return for a score, Romo is out for a couple of months with an injury and their season is over. Blah.

We made it through the anniversary of sweet Nate's death yesterday. It was hard. I do think my st. john's wort is working or I would have been a puddle. Sweet baby boy, we miss him so much. Such a sweet companion.

I hurt myself by using the mouse too much at work Monday (and probably gripping it in fear as I was overwhelmed by work). I woke up yesterday and couldn't turn my neck and my arm and thumb and shoulder killing me. I didn't do anything except take drugs and stretch some and they hurt all day. This morning feels somewhat better. I will rest my arm more again today at work and not be so anxious (ha).

I hate this feeling on Wednesday morning that the only thing worth looking forward to is the weekend and it is so far away! I am looking forward to lunch with a friend today and class tomorrow night, but I really just want some more rest and time for "stuff" like paying the bills.

I did send a big hunk of cash to a bill today on faith that more will be coming in. Some that I sent was the expense check that is a direct correlation and can't be considered "income" and then some more on top of that. I do have a good hunk of set-aside in case I come up short for the mortgage. I'm trying to build a stockpile.

Lunch today is with Heather who I used to work with 10 years ago. She still works for the same company and now I do too, again. I saw her upstairs when I was with a client on Friday, but she got away before I could say hi. It will be nice to catch up. I'm curious about her marriage/relationship with a musician. That may be all over now.

And I'm gearing up to write EITHER a short story for the newspaper's contest OR a novel for NaNoWriMo. I hate to commit to both. I'm a little more set on the short story because I have an idea and it is short (though I know that doesn't really make it any easier -- especially since it is judged). I just wish I had a hobby that didn't involve the computer so much. I am on the computer all the time as it is.

And as I put the date here, I realize that this is the 3 year anniversary of being laid off at the station. Three years. It doesn't feel like they have flown by, by any means. It all seems more like a bad memory now, but still makes me sad that that part of my life is over. I'm glad I don't have to be out and about and going all the time, yet I feel like I would have the energy to do it if I were still doing it. Oh well. You have to let go of things.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland