Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005 10:34 pm

It's ALIVE!

I am quite proud of myself tonight. This computer has been giving me the fits for months and then completely bit the dust last Friday. I did take it to the computer store this week just to see if they would be interested in buying it for parts. They weren't. He was SO nice though (Logic Approach.... use them! Buy there! Nice people!) He fired it up and saw the error message and seemed to think it was a memory problem so he took the time to put in new memory and see if that fixed it. It didn't, but it was nice that he tried. He gave me some advice. I brought it home and did some diagnostics and found nothing wrong. Then I actually reformatted the hard drive and reloaded Windows and started all over again. Took me a while longer to get the right drivers to get me on the internet, but I have achieved that objective and I have a computer again for a little while. We may limp along together for a while. At least I should be able to start my NaNoWriMo on it (with constant backups!) and keep up with my email and this journal.

I haven't been on the air this week except for Tuesday. The voice is just unlistenable. It sounds like I am in pain. I am not. I feel great. I just feel miserable that I can't be on the air! I have so much to say! And I hate that my listeners have to listen to the girl replacing me. That is just mean. She is very good..... just very different from me.

We did get the ratings today and they were not what I hoped. No bonus for me this time. We were number two in town and our sister station was number one again. They must have had an incredible third month of the book to go from number 4 to number 1. Oh, well, it is only radio. I went to the boss yesterday and asked to make some changes in the music on our station. He thinks the station sounds great. Well, it does, but that doesn't mean we don't need to add the new Garth Brooks song. I think he's holding us back. And with these ratings we won't be seeing him go away any time soon, dangit.

I don't think I wrote about talking to the good boss this week. It has just broken my heart since, when?, at least May when I last saw him in person, that we aren't friends anymore and he hasn't called me. Yes, I have called him with no response. I heard rumors here and there about what was going on in his life, including divorce, but didn't know what was what. I decided last week that I needed to at least try to call him and say hi again. I did and he called me back. We had a good visit. He is going through a divorce and I know there are lots of changes going on for him. It is sad, but good, too. I think the fact that he quit drinking and his wife didn't may have added to the tension, not that there wasn't plenty before, they just masked a lot of it with lots and lots of drinking.

My computer still has the Y key issue... weird. Must be a stray piece of cat hair or something causing it to be wacky.

Oh... to backtrack on the week. We did not end up going to see Merle. Mark was super busy at work and it was cold and the Series was on so we opted out, which was fine with us both. We had a great night at home. I cooked Frito pie for dinner and made an apple crisp. It was chilly outside and we had the fire going. And we watched hours and hours and HOURS of baseball. All 14 innings. I wish the Astros could have one a game or two to stretch the Series a little bit longer, but I enjoyed it anyway. It was good and close and the White Sox were great players, there is no doubt. I thought they had a lot of class too, in their management and players and fans.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland