Monday, Oct. 25, 2010 8:16 am

Birthday weekend

The pitch went fine Friday and though they haven't signed on the dotted line, they will. I think these guys would have if they had had the power to do that. The CEO was supposed to be with them, but he cancelled.

Yesterday Club 21 burned to the ground. I hate that. Very sad for Barbara and William that owned it. I hope they own that ground as well as the building. Maybe someone will buy it for a gas station and they can make money out of the deal. They didn't have insurance.

Our happy hour with the client didn't happen Friday so I was able to go buy Mark's birthday card and come home and talk on the phone with my sister a while. Then I went to Jovita's for Lucky's CD release party. We had a good time. Lots of friends there and we kept up with the Rangers game throughout and then watched the last inning on TV there. The Rangers won and are heading to their first World Series.

Saturday I called my old Rangers-fan friend Randy to congratulate him. He called back yesterday and we had a good catch-up visit until the signal died. I hadn't talked to him in almost 20 years, we decided. He sounded just the same and he said he liked hearing my positive, enthusiastic voice on his phone.

Mark's birthday was noneventful since he worked all day Saturday. I did some good deal cleaning (the closet, Daddy's shoe shine box) and made his pies for his gift. Yesterday he was home most of the day, though. I watched some football and then went to voicetrack. We had some tears over the anniversary of Nathan's death. Mark found pictures he took while Nate was sick and didn't know if he should keep them or not. I said to keep them, but put them in a separate file so they didn't come up along with his happier, better times, photos. I have pics in those last days, too, and it is sad to see his little white nose and know he was not feeling good at all. Tomorrow is the actual anniversary day.

Mark ran into one of the folks from the vets at the store the other day, which is odd, and she knew his name and knew Nathan's name and was very sweet to him. Odd that that came up almost one year to the day.

I'm going to try to get to work a little early this morning and get serious about work. There is so much to do. So much to catch up on.

Geez, and 2 months from today is Christmas. How can time possibly fly this fast? Didn't we just celebrate nephew #2's birthday 2 months ago?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland