Monday, Oct. 23, 2006 11:34 am

Mark's day

It's Mark's Birthday!

So far, he's having a good one, I think. I made his apple pie yesterday and it turned our really well. He doesn't like them too sweet and this one was just right. The crust was good, too, even though I went back to Crisco. Lard usually tastes better and turns out better, but I figured I'd be a little more heart health conscious and used Crisco this time.

I shopped this weekend and have given him two books I got at Border's. One is just an unusual book about how people have died. Gruesome and morbid, I know, but interesting nonetheless. The other is by Neal Peart, Mark's favorite drummer, and is about life on the road on a motorcycle going from gig to gig. I was thrilled to find a book like that that possibly Mark hadn't even heard about. He liked it a lot. Also got him a cool little wooden box with a shooting star carved on the top. I have also brought in a cactus garden with glass from the cool store on 71, but he hasn't noticed it yet. I just put it in his bathroom for him to see eventually.

I was busy with work all weekend. I did not go out on Saturday night. Once I'd done the remote and Border's and grocery shopping, I was ready to be home for a while. Didn't do much at all. Just enjoyed being home.

Yesterday I had another remote at a cardboard house store. Pretty good remote, though, for one of those places. We did have a few people show up to eat our barbeque sausage wraps and take our prizes. It was cold and the wind was whipping at us, but after the heat of the summer and fall, I liked it.

Yesterday I made pie and napped and watched TV. I really needed to sit down and create a bunch of logs for the station, but I never got up the energy to do that or to do my website for work. Laziness galore.

We were up early this morning to get ready for maids today. They will be here soon to get the house shipshape for the in-laws visit tomorrow.

And today is the day dad goes to the doctor to learn more about his upcoming surgery. Don't know if they'll set a date yet or not. We are all depressed and uneasy. My writer's almanac that I subscribe to online has had two really sad poems in a row about living (or dying) with cancer. Very sad.

I'd better get ready to leave. I want to be gone when the maids get here. I will enjoy their labors tonight.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland