Sunday, Oct. 23, 2005 2:28 pm

Death

The grim reaper has visited my office. I have seen the blue screen of death. I am now computer-less. Okay, not really. I have Mark's at my disposal most of the time and I have any number of computers available to me at work. I just don't have my OWN computer with all my personal private stuff anymore...including my address book, etc. I am trying to remain calm.

I asked Mark this morning how I can justify spending $1000 on a new computer with the debt we already have. He said, "God would want you to have a computer." That's probably good enough for me. I've been shopping online. I believe I am going to go with an iBook (do I hear any objections?), but I am worried about my genealogy programs. I have to preserve that data and make sure nothing is lost in a transfer. I could keep that info on Mark's PC if I had to, but then I wouldn't be able to take it to the reunion with me. Decisions, decisions. But I haven't ever heard of anyone that was unhappy with their iBook.

How can I write my NaNoWriMo without a computer? I'd better act fast.

Today is Mark's birthday and we are celebrating big time. Let's see, I heated up some leftover casserole. He opened cards and presents. I am about to turn on the Cowboy game and he'll leave for a gig. Whoo-hoo. Wild party animals, that is us.

Yesterday I spent the afternoon watching Texas beat Tech and working on my quilt. This is the quilt I began before I ever met Mark, but then he became its recipient when it was finished. It is not a masterpiece, but I like it because it is big and colorful and comforting. The patches were all from my grandmother's quilt scrap bag. But... one large scrap of navy blue was a bad cloth. Every big square of that cloth (and there are a lot of them) has ripped out of the quilt. So I'm going back and patching over those spots just to make sure that the stuffing isn't exposed. It is a bigger project than I first anticipated and it is so difficult to work with a full size quilt. I probably won't finish it today, but I can work on it whle I'm watching the World Series all week.

Now, last night while I watched the World Series, Game One, I made an apple pie for Mark's birthday. That was his one request. He thinks it is the best pie I ever made in my life, but I thought (as usual) that it could have been better. I used Braeburn apples and they seemed a little too crisp or tough and I would have liked a little more sugar.

I will say this about my computer's death... I don't miss that damn Y key that screwed me up so much.

I think I'll take the laptop to a computer store tomorrow and see if they will give me anything for it. I know the CD drive is quite functional and I'm sure many other parts are usable. Just not the Y key.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland