Thursday, Oct. 21, 2010 8:17 am

Writing and Guy

Boy, I am not feeling it at work right now. I can see I am not good at multi-tasking, so I am having a really hard time keeping up with my regular work while I work on this bigger client project, and I really am not keen on these group projects for a client. It's not a group project, but I've been instructed to work with several people for their input. Not that it is bad input, but there are always other opinions. I've got to get it all done today, really, because I present it tomorrow. I had lunch at this place (the Italian place) with the bosses the other day and then yesterday with my friend/boss. That was a much more enjoyable lunch. She really unloaded a lot on me about her frustrations with the boss. I feel like he won't be there for the long term. His ultimate goal is to move on to Nike (his dream job). He's got the BS down where he might be able to talk his way into that sort of job and I hope he does and maybe she moves into his spot. She's burned out and tired and I hope something energizes her as well as me.

Baseball is taking up a lot of my time this week. Rangers are still up, but just 3 games to 2 now, but they come back to Texas tomorrow night and I hope they can just finish it off then. Two wins in NY was phenomenal. Meanwhile, the Giants lead the Phillies 3 games to just 1, so that may not come out like I want. I think they have another game tonight.

Writing class tonight. I am not writing as much as I want to from the class, but I am also grateful that there isn't real homework and expectations. The class itself is inspirational and motivating and that's good.

And the new housekeeper started yesterday. Some little kinks to work out, but I think she'll be good. The house smelled lovely when I came in last night. That was nice.

I feel like this should be Friday and a weekend eminent, but it isn't. That is frustrating. But then, I'm very glad it isn't Friday since my project at work is not nearly finished.

Oh, and I didn't write after seeing Guy Clark Tuesday night (well I did on the other blog). So good to see him again. Makes me want to listen to all his lyrics and songs again. I need to look to see how old he is, too. He was on a cane and not without pain, that was obvious. But he doesn't change and he still wears the same clothes he's been wearing for 30 years. I like that. I wish I had an established uniform. And I wish I was living an authentic life like he does. Not that I really know what that is. I did think to myself, If I didn't have to worry about money at all, though I wasn't rich, what would I want to spend my time doing? And, almost surprisingly, writing was the first thought. I still don't want to write under the gun with a deadline or even write for a magazine or things like that, but the process of writing is a number one thing for me. And even this counts a lot.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland