Saturday, Oct. 21, 2006 1:16 pm

More oddities

I had to go up to the station to put in the Sunday morning show. I was up there a lot longer than I anticipated. Frustrating. Found out where the program had been all week though. Usually the all-night guy puts it into the system. The Hamster brought it to me yesterday with a "who does this" look on his face. Too late now for that guy to do it so I did. Finally found out today that it was addressed to Cotton and so it got put into the morning show's pile and their current producer hunted all over to find out (for them) who should get it, but did they believe her and give it to him? No, they held on to it until Friday and then I guess gave it to the Hamster. I hope next week it finds its way to the right guy sooner.

I did a little birthday shopping for Mark today with a little more to do. It is frustrating to shop for him when he wants a laptop (and he's not going to get it) and I don't really know what else to get him. I will go in search of a good book or two for him later today at a bookstore. I'll do that after my remote.

I also need to clean house and get ready for company this week. I did just talk to my mother-in-law and they are willing to postpone their trip if we need them to (for Dad's surgery). We'll see about that. I still need to clean house whether we have company or not.

Yesterday we had a good lunch at Pflugerville for our little Texas tour. The oddest thing was a listener that showed up to give me silverware. I have no idea why she gave me silverware or felt that I needed silverware. When asked to explain she kept going back to how she wanted to give it to me on my birthday and then Christmas, but was only now giving it to me. That didn't explain anything to me, but it is a full 8 piece place setting of a very pretty stainless with all the serving pieces AND iced teaspoons, too. And it is all brand new, never used. I don't quite know what to do with such a nice gift. I don't really need silverware, but it would be nice to have teaspoons that match, except that my other teaspoons were a very sweet gift from Mark and I wouldn't get rid of them even if I did get rid of the rest of the silverware.

Last night I went to introduce at Buda. It was a little chilly out last night. Nice for a change. I was bored for the most part and felt like a fish out of water. Visited with a lady listener from the catering folks. She was a big fan, but she was also a big fan of Wes Hayden and thought he was very talented, which ruined her credibility for me right off of the bat. I didn't stay all the way through CCR. Came home and went to bed.

Mark didn't have to get up as early this morning as we thought he would. He will be gone until late tonight, though. I wish I didn't have my day so chopped up. Remote here in a little while and then home and then out? I am debating not going out tonight. I would love to go see Robbie Fulks, but I feel pressure to get things done and I have another remote tomorrow so it is already filling up.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland