Thursday, Oct. 19, 2006 11:49 am

Dad's condition

Bad news about my Dad's cancer. Not what we wanted to hear at all. The cancer is back and is vicious. There are several lumps in his jaw and the doctor could tell by feeling that they are in his jawbone, too. They put a dye in and x-rayed him and said that the next step is to remove the lumps, remove the jawbone and replace it with a steel plate, remove teeth, too, obviously (I don't know how they'll fix them) and remove part of his cheek and replace it with chest tissue. It all sounds so Frankensteinish. Scary stuff. I remember Mark's uncle who lost his jaw and MOUTH for a year as things healed. I can't imagine how horrible that would be. After the year they cut open his "mouth" so he could eat and talk again, but he was horribly disfigured and the previously outgoing man seldom went out in public again. I only knew him in those last couple of years of his life, not before.

So we're all sad and bummed. Daddy has always been very proud of his teeth and the fact that he has always had them, and so that adds to the sadness of this all. They will know more Monday. There is an appointment then with the plastic surgeon.

The weirdness with the promotions director was accurate. She has resigned. She was going to leave us in May anyway because she is getting married next summer, but they asked her to change from our station to the other country station AND take over the promotions for the new Christian station and she said, "Nope, sorry, I'll just go ahead and quit now." I will hate to lose her a LOT, but I am proud for her and admire how she doesn't take no shit!

One of our weekenders brought me a reel-to-reel tape box of the Byrds Sweetheart of the Rodeo album that he's had forever. Inside, his wife had swapped out the girl's face for mine and changed it to Sweetheart of the Radio. Very clever. His new album is no better than the previous ones. I wish I could tell someone to follow their dream and make music, but don't feel like you have to put it out to the world. That wouldn't be nice. But his music is just so average. The boss and I are going to talk about the CD today, just to be fair.

I was at the cafe last night, but I sure didn't feel like being there. Dale was on my show for an hour and that was a lot of fun, really. He picked good old songs and had stories to tell. James Hand opened and it started pouring rain so he finished with everyone huddled under the sides and then Dale played inside. I hope they didn't lose their shirt on this one because I'm sure lots of people left because of the standing room only conditions. It was nice outside when things cooled down. I left right after the 9 o'clock introduction.

This morning is is 52 degrees and heavenly. Finally a hint of fall in the air. I can't believe it has taken this long to cool off like this. Usually you would have a little of this in September.

So back to work with so many new people and strangers. I hate change.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland