Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005 10:33 am

Microwaves are 50

The paper has an article about the microwave being 50 years old now. I certainly never heard of it that far back (...besides the fact that I wasn't born yet...). I wrote last week about how the microwave changed our concept of popcorn. It sure has changed a lot of things. I'm not a big fan of the microwave. But, if we didn't have it, Mark would never eat anything but cold sandwiches. He will microwave things. He amuses me when he microwaves something like canned soup. In my (cook)book, canned soup is not only better cooked on the stove, it is easier (and cleaner).

I got my first microwave in about 1981. My boss bought his wife a new one and sold me (or gave me?) their old one. I used it primarily for great nachos. It was one of those big hulking monsters of a microwave.

What am I talking about? I still have one of those big hulking microwaves. In most things in this world, Mark likes newer and improved. See his computer become a little slow or the printer jam? He's out to the door to Best Buy to get something new. The stereo in his truck is too bassy? He's out the door for a new one. But, when it comes to the microwave, he has some sort of nostalgic fixation with this one. It was used by a friend of his and then ended up with Mark somehow. I believe this was during his FIRST marriage which started almost 20 years ago. The microwave stuck with him through the second marriage and singledom and then I came into the picture. I think I had a smaller microwave at the time so it got sold in a garage sale.

This microwave is fine. It works (most of the time.... there have been a few days I thought it was about to go... and I was hoping). It just isn't pretty or fancy and it is very clunky in its door design. But, with finances the way they are THIS week, this microwave is certainly fine and I have no complaints.

I am going to have lunch with clients and a saleswoman today. The deal is already sealed and I'll start doing their spots on Monday. I'm excited. I'm also pleased. They originally asked for the midday man to do their spots, but the saleswoman told them that he already had a BBQ client and couldn't do their spots. She lied. He doesn't. She just didn't want to have to deal with him on this. Hooray for her and for me. I'm doing those visualizations of more money coming in! And my voice is very good today so I can impress them with it in person and then they won't hear it later if it is weaker.

Last night I sent out my email to plea for money for the Race for the Cure. It is so nice to do that and have people respond immediately. A few are mailing checks and two have already given on the website. I hate to ask for money and hope people don't feel an obligation if they don't want to or can't give, but it is nice when people can.

I'm going to see a couple of bands tonight. One is a big time big deal band from Nashville, but I'm mainly going to see the opening act, my friend Aaron. I wish I had known before I commited that tonight is Houston's playoff game. I hope they wrap it up. There are TVs in this bar so I will be able to keep tabs on it. I also don't want to drink too much tonight. I did last week and many previous Wednesdays and it makes me feel like crap to go to my meeting and not be up to it.

I'm choking this morning from the Botox. Normal, but irritating. I sound like an old woman with this uncontrollable, loud cough.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland