Thursday, Oct. 16, 2008 1:40 am

Rain

I didn't go to Waco Saturday. My nephew was sick and he wasn't going to be much fun after his race (to watch football with) so I stayed home. I'm glad I did. I felt pretty lousy myself. I got up right at game time and my neck was killing me for the first couple of hours while I took meds and stretched it and tried to wake up.

But Texas played an amazing game against OU and beat them. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thoroughly. And then that night Oklahoma State beat Missouri, who was ranked higher, and I thoroughly enjoyed that, too!

I didn't do much while Mark was gone. He didn't come home until Sunday night. I did a lot more genealogy and watched football. Dallas screwed up and lost to Arizona. I didn't enjoy that much. I wanted to get out of the house on Saturday and to go to the Round Rock library, but then when the time came I couldn't make myself get my act together and go. What's the point when I've got so much research to do right here at home and through the computer. I really am not "missing" any information at this point.

This week M&M has been in FW, which is nice in a way. She had me go by and get checks from her house and deposit them and then was panicked because there needed to be MORE money in her account right away. So I went back to her mailbox and got another huge check (more than I've made in six months) and deposited it for her so she could pay her AmEx bill. Unreal how much her bills are. I realize there was one $7000 expense on there for business, so it isn't like she just lives high on the hog, but still.

A dear family friend died this week and that has made me sad. He and Daddy were very good friends until Daddy died. I need to find addresses and send cards. I wrote about him on my other blog.

I went to the doctor today and had a check up. I'm pretty much fine. I weighed what I weighed when I was there in March, so at least I'm not gaining. I'm not losing either. I am 14 pounds more than I was last July. Right now I'm at my HGW. I got a flu shot today. I don't usually get around to getting one, but they offered so I took it.

Mark leaves town again tomorrow, but it will be a quicker trip.

And we finally got rain today after about six weeks of nothing (one short shower from Hurricane Ike on Sept. 6). It was lovely. It moved the show at the Cafe (that we didn't book) to Midnight Rodeo. I wonder how the promoter arranged the deal there? I am curious about it all.

And the last presidential debate was on tonight. I felt, at times, like I felt around the dinner table with Papa when he had Alzheimer's and he'd spout off something nonsensical. Everyone just listened politely and then resumed their normal conversation. I felt like Obama and Bob Schieffer (sp?) did that with McCain. He was railing and fuming and spouting, and it was the equivalent of Papa H shouting "I gotta pee!" I don't remember watching debates and paying as much attention to politics in previous elections... except after during the voting troubles, perhaps. I am so absorbed by it all this time. I am going to be sorely disappointed if Obama is not our president. Destroyed disappointed. I have never in my life voted for a candidate that I want to win THIS much.

I talked to my cousin Maxine in Boston today. She is my dad's cousin and cut from the same cloth apparently. She said she hadn't made up her mind, so I said I was voting for Obama. She went into that crap about the "antichrist coming from the east" (and since when has Hawaii -- or Illinois-- been in the east..... and since the Bible was written about the Middle East in the first place, what did "east" even mean???). She was also going on and on about abortion and gay marriage which I couldn't argue with her on. If you are against choice and against gay marriage, then McCain is your man, no doubt. Anyway, I was glad when the conversation came back to family and we wrapped things up. I don't have to talk to her much (let's see.... this is three conversations with her in my lifetime). Thank goodness. I guess that her sister married two black men (not simultaneously) hasn't changed her thinking in all areas. I would ASSUME she isn't just voting against Obama because of his race. Her nieces and nephews are the same color as he. Yes, my cousins. I don't know them at all.

Mark's gone to bed and I guess I will go that way, too. I tried to take a nap this evening when it was raining, but it didn't work.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland