Saturday, Oct. 13, 2007 4:41 pm

Pre-nap Jack discussion

I haven't written today and it is already late afternoon and naptime. Maybe I need to update... so many important things happen on a minute to minute basis in my life. I would hate for my future biographers to miss an event!

I washed the windows today. I have never done that in this house before. I didn't wash them all, of course, just the ones we "use." I just scrubbed them with a squeeqee thing and rinsed them down. I should go back and use some Windex on some of them.

And I've watched football and worked on the quilt. Texas stomped Iowa State. It was pretty boring after a while I got another side bound on the quilt and I'm almost done with the last side. Still haven't figure out how the corners will work and I see flaw after flaw, but I'll get it finished and get rid of it eventually.

Mark had to be up and out early for the Chris Isaak show at the Backyard. Should be a good show. I thought he might get to come home for a nap and I guess that is still a possibility.

Yesterday was a full day. I had my early remote. It was very pleasant weather in the morning, but it got hot while we were there. We didn't have a tent because they took it to Big State so we were unprotected and I got a little sweaty.

Came back to the station and Dierks was there. I've met him before and thought he was a little goofy. He didn't seem so goofy this time and we had a nice brief visit. He performed, but I didn't stick around for that, too much work to do.

Went to see him and Jack at Stubb's. I was disappointed in Jack and I can't quite put my finger on it. I don't think I would have liked his show at all if I didn't already love him so much. It wasn't just that he doesn't do much of his old stuff anymore, it was mainly the smoke machines and the new music and the new band guys (except Robert is back on bass so it was nice to see him). And his patter. He has always used the same patter about his Dad being in the audience and it being his Dad's birthday and he has sung Biloxi. Now he sings Measure of a Man and I guess if you've never seen him before that all sounds cool. To me, it just sounded manipulative. And he sang some rodeo song that I actually liked because it started off too rock but then did turn into a true country song, but his patter on it seemed very anti-Jack.

I was more impressed with Dierks. I haven't ever seen him perform and he was very at ease on stage and really acted like he was having a good time. Wade came out and sang a song with him, too, and that was nice. I talked to Wade inside for a minute. Spent some time talking to Geno last night, too. He's so full of himself. I can't say I dislike him, but he is a little much.

I ran into Drew that works for Jack and I love him so much. He was the only Jack entourage person I saw and as soon as he saw me he gave me a VIP pass, very nice. I texted Mark that he would be seeing Drew and Kyle and made sure he knew who they were. He was doing backline for Jack at a Lance gig at TDS so he saw them after I did. He said Jack did the dad's birthday schtick there too. Lance "knows" Mark know and came over and shook his hand and said hello. I think that's pretty cool. Mark got to hang with Pete and Jack a bit and he said Jack says he tried my hotline four times yesterday afternoon. I think he must have had the wrong number because I wasn't gone from the studio much at all. Made me heartsick to have missed a call from him (even if he was plugging a show). I don't know why I just want to keep him at the level he was a couple of years ago. He deserves to be big time. I just wish it were the big time doing what he was doing before.

Alrighty, the world is updated and I'm going to nap. Wilburt has started without me.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland