Thursday, Oct. 13, 2005 10:22 pm

Lots of Thinking

I drank too much last night. I have been worn out all day today because of that and I hate that feeling.

Mark called tonight and he got to meet Lyle Lovett tonight before his show in Corpus. How cool! He told Lyle that I fell in love with him (Mark) because of Lyle. Lyle told him to tell me not to hold it against him. It is true, though. When I met Mark, we were making small talk and trying to find our mutual areas of interest. We had been introduced by my friend that ended up being his step-mother when she married his dad. We were making chit-chat at a bar where we met and he said, "Have you heard of a guy named Lyle Lovett?" This was 1992 and at that time Lyle was only on his second album and, if known at all, was known for his hair more than his music. But, even by that time, I had seen Lyle four times and was a big fan. Finding someone else that understood that connection to Lyle's music was an eye-opening, amazing experience.

I was thinking tonight that I have probably paid more money to see Lyle Lovett than any other artist. I don't think I've ever gotten to see him for free (except when a guy took me to see him one time way back). I've even bought four tickets to his show in order to take people with me that I wanted to show him to.

I also realized this week, after seeing Willie, that I think I've only paid to see Willie twice. That very first show at WTSU in 1976 and then again at Farm Aid II in Manor. I've been very lucky in all my free shows with Willie... through several different radio stations, through a newspaper, and through Mark's job.

I've been thinking this week too (doing too much thinking apparently!) about what I was passionate about before I met Mark. Sometimes I think that I only started going to live music and being interested in music after I met Mark, but I got to thinking about it and that is just absolutely not true. I saw Stevie Ray Vaughan open for George Thorogood in 1980 or 1981 before he was known and that was maybe the coolest show ever. I saw the Fabulous Thunderbirds several times. I saw Lyle many times, and Omar and the Howlers, and Vince Vance. I saw lots and lots of shows by myself and with friends back in my single days, so that isn't an interest I created to be with Mark.

Once again today I had very little contact with anyone at work today. This was funny to me. I mistimed my walk to the studio and I ended up crossing paths with the asshole I work with that I avoid at all costs. So funny though... he looked me straight in the eye and then looked away without saying anything. He's three feet from me and he is ignoring me. I chirpily said "Hello ...." and then he said, "Oh, hi..." What an ass.

Tomorrow I'm going to breakfast with one friend and then lunch with another. Kind of catching up my social obligations all in one day. I had better go to bed early to be awake for it. Mark will be in late so I won't wait up for him.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland