2000-10-12 1:42 pm

New TV

The Austin journal writers have an egroup going and I've just been reading some of the other diaries. I've gotten behind on reading the journal I used to keep up with daily and I've really gotten behind on finding new and interesting journals to read. Where does the time go. I guess it is all that time I find myself watching CNN Breaking News repeat the same thing over and over.

True, work takes up more of my time than it used to. That was when I discovered journals and so many other wonderful things on the internet--back when they put a computer in our control room and I had all the time during the songs to surf. And surf. And surf. Now they've taken away my song time. Now when I work I announce and announce and announce and there is no down time. Or if there is down time it just prolongs the day.

I went to dance class Tuesday night and it was fun. There were only about 8 men and 8 women so it was a lot easier to hear and see what was going on and these guys were all pretty decent dancers too. I did my best dancing with the teacher which makes me think I'm okay. If I have a good leader, I'm a pretty good follower.

Also had a really nice conversation, later in the night at Ego's, with one of the teachers from Four on the Floor--the dance class (fouronthefloor.com). Found out she was from Oak Cliff (Dallas) and other things about her life. She didn't know I was a disc jockey and things about my life. I love it when really cool people seem to like me. Maybe that is because they are really cool people and know how to make people feel liked?

Mark has gone to Houston for a couple of days so I've got to occupy my own time. TV immersion. Whoo-hoo. Tonight all of the Must See TV shows premier. I really don't want to be this addicted to TV but I console myself that at least I watch them taped so I do fast forward through commercials and boring stuff.

New TV shows so far? Watched Bette last night but couldn't last through 15 minutes. Too contrived and over the top. My sister loved it but she is also a big Bette fan. I like the little girl on the show. She used to be on something else I liked but I can't remember what it was. Bette--C. New show Welcome to New York--B+. It has lots of possibilities. I like Christine Barnaski that used to be on Cybil and I love this new guy Jim Gafferty or something. I had seen his routine on Comedy Channel and thought he was a hoot already. Good first episode that set it up without going into huge detail. The anchor guy is a send up of Bryant Gumbel mixed with Ted Knight. I know this is how I would feel if I were suddenly put to work with New Yorkers, it wouldn't be pretty. Gideon's Crossing--B. First episode was good, a little heavy on the emotion. I'll try it again.

Others? The District--A. Love Craig T. Nelson (reminds me of an old boyfriend--a cop--so this is a great role to see him in). Geena Davis--C. Not quite as bad as I thought it would be, but still stupid. Obnoxious little girl. Love the little boy that was in Freaks and Geeks though. Peter Horton is always nice to look at but he WOULD NOT be attracted to Geena Davis. No one would. Okay, my husband is but that is some quirk in his brain and hormones. Tucker--don't know how I stumbled in on this one. Might be okay for a family to watch but not for me. Focus is on the kid.

There's probably more new shows I've seen that I'm spacing. I try to give them all a glimpse to see if there is anything worth getting hooked into. Like Sports Night and the Seinfeld Chronicles (yes, I was watching it from the beginning).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland