Monday, Nov. 09, 2009 10:56 am

Facing another Monday

We are not going to get Oscar the cat. His owner found a closer home that she liked better and that is fine. We visited Phil the Cat at his foster home yesterday and loved that little guy. He has an intestinal bug and is on pills for 10 more days and then, if he checks out healthy, we will get him from Austin Pets Alive, a no kill shelter. Apparently, the city shelter kills kittens under 8 weeks so APA got this whole litter of kittens when they were dropped off. Poor babies. She named the whole litter after members of the band Radiohead and this one was named after the drummer, which makes it perfect!

Back to last week, great lunch in the sunshine with Judith, talking about everything and everybody. I wish I could share the office with her every day, she is such a bright spot in this world. Voice tracking Wed was fine, but on Thursday, there was a mass shooting at Fort Hood so my voice tracks probably sounded uncaring. Then it was hard to do the weekend tracks, not knowing how much to talk about it or what would be happening. I think I mentioned the hurricane coming, too, and it might be a non sequitur by the time it airs.

I did a lot of typing last week, over 11 hours it looks like. And there may be that many on the way this week if Dr. Stern gets to typing.

Mark's arm is better. I don't know when he goes back to the doctor, but sometime this week.

Over the weekend I felt kind of lousy and didn't get a lot done (besides lots of required typing and voicetracking). I put away some of the Day of the Dead altar (at least I took it down and cleaned the mantle and put Nate back up there). I experimented with Aunt Dorothy's roll recipe and got it to be very very good if I make the dough balls big enough to fill the muffin cups. You can freeze her rolls before they rise, too, so I may try to freeze up some in advance of Thanksgiving.

Mainly I watched football over the weekend. Texas had no trouble. Dallas was on last night. I called Mark's mom back during the game and paused it. Then Mark was coming home so I waited until he got there to finish it with me. Mom called and I told her to not reveal the ending. But then that worried me that the Cowboys probably blew it and I was on edge until they finally won. Whew.

I met the company's senior vp of finance Friday and we had lots of musical things in common. I have a meeting in his office with him today to go over some music for something, not sure what. I hope that friendship/connection will make me more visible to high ups and at least make my boss think he'd better put me in a full time job to make them happy.I also was in on a meeting this week with Outback Steakhouse. Interesting process. Though I can put things together, I wonder if I can "sell" why I did it the way I do. I wasn't really asked to do it though. I think TP thought there might be country music needed, but not necessarily.

More troubles with that damn health club this week. They wrote and said there were issues and the wrong songs were playing. That was on Wed, the day I didn't plan to go in until late. Lots of emails flying back and forth between the consultant people the director of something at the club and our service rep. I was panicked and asked them for a list of songs that should not be playing. They sent about an hours worth with 13 or so marked NO in big letters. I sweated it all day until I got back to the office at 6 pm and started checking and found all of those songs on the lists they sent. So I marked all of THEIR lists clearly and marked the email list clearly and sent it all back to everyone saying, "Isn't this what you meant?" Then I get an email just back to ME from a consultant saying, oh, he and I were working on 2 different computers and you got the wrong list apparently, so here's the list of songs we really meant. But that list still had these NO songs so I responded to that at midnight. Finally, in the morning, there was an email again to everyone saying, We were looking at an old list, 98% of the music appears to be right (98 hell, 100% is right!). I was so angry. I'm not very good at dealing with idiots or tolerating them. They should have sent a new list by Friday, but they hadn't. I will check when I get to work and that will be on my big job list this week.

I'm getting a haircut today, too. I need it so badly and I know I'll have a rosier view of the world if I do it. It's just spending the money that bothers me! We are pretty close to the bone right now. Of course, I spend so much on groceries each time I go that that doesn't help. I may go get Mark's check today and put it into the bank so I will at least know how much it is. At least we are paying the mortgage before the 15th this month without borrowing money to do it so maybe we are catching up some. Well, I did borrow from my meager savings this week.

Yesterday it just poured rain for hours. Not too cold though so I ended up opening the door to get a breeze. Lots of leaks on the patio roof that we need to address eventually.

Two wedding gifts to be bought and sent, B's birthday this week and I need to get a card off, and a memorial for Aunt Margaret. Lots of extra outgo to worry about. But I'm getting in some good hours at the office and there is lots of typing to do, so I'm sure it will all work out. It always does.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland