1999-11-06 23:56:19

Intro entry

This is going to be sort of a "warm up" entry. Today I had the pleasure of meeting a whole group of Austin diarists and it was quite fun. They were all articulate and witty and they said funny things with big words, too! They were an inspiration to me to get started with this online thing. I also felt quite guilty to be there without an online diary. I knew a little bit about almost everyone at the gathering. It is weird to know their pets' names, their occupations, their frustrations, their joys and their secret sufferings and not know these people. They, on the other hand, knew very little, if anything about me. So this will begin to remedy this.

I have been in radio for the better part of 21 years as a disc jockey. It has always been weird to me to have people who knew about me (as much as I revealed on the radio)and felt like they were my friend when I didn't even know they exsisted. I've seen that from the other side with the diaries.

In the kind of radio I am in now I don't get to talk much about my personal life. My husband is a musician and I never even get to mention that on the air (for a variety of reasons). I want to use this as an outlet for my "real" life and the thrill I'm experiencing of living in Austin.

Just so those I met today (who will be the only ones seeing this at this point) have a little background on me: I'm happily married to a drummer in a swing band but he plays just about anything. I think he hung the moon and will probably avoid writing any frustrations I have with him (they are few) because I would have a fear of hurting his feelings if he ever read this. He will know I am writing an online diary but won't ask to read it if I don't want him too. I've lived in Dallas for the last fifteen years but I've always felt it was temporary. I'm from the Panhandle of Texas and still have a deep need to be on flat, treeless, open space. I love Austin and especially love the trees and hills but I miss the Panhandle, too.

I am a disc jockey and have been for a long time. I've had a variety of jobs besides radio. I was a motivational speaker, a writer, a newpaper reporter, a church secretary, a "wrap and ship" clerk, and other jobs that take more than two words to explain. I like the job I have now a lot. It is flexible and fun and I have great people to work with...and it is in Austin! The fulfillment of a lifelong dream. No, you can't hear me on the radio in Austin.

Secretly, I want to be a writer. I have written but I am not currently much of a writer. I ponder, I think, I stew, but I rarely write. If nothing else, I want to overcome some of that malaise with this online accounting of my life.

That should be enough for this first entry. I doubt if I ever have the rioutously funny life exhibited in some diaries, but maybe I'll have my moments.

Thanks for checking it out.

P.S. I am an excellent speller and mostly a good typist and grammarian. If you spot an error, please forgive me and read on. If you see me misuse a word, please let me know as soon as possible.

And for the kids at the table today, the name will be "Pecan." And the site name will be Estoy Nueces, which means, very roughly, I'm nuts.

And thank you Jette for telling me about diaryland.com. This will be a good place to get a start.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland