Tuesday, Nov. 04, 2008 11:01 am

Election Day

My day on jury duty was very interesting. We got through half of the voir dire, with the prosecution laying out what they had to prove and discussing our views on drug laws and whether we could find someone guilty of possession and give them 20 years. The guy apparently had 20 g of crack. We took a break and when we came back for the defense voir dire, they had made a bargain and he took 3 years. I guess he could see that the prosecution was going to go for 20 and it would be likely that he could get it.

There was one guy there in the jury pool that was such a dick. Lazy, late, on his phone texting during the voir dire. And some of the people were so stupid in their views. I mean, really. They were asking if people might see that 20 years would be fair punishment if they showed that he had done other bad things in his life. I could see that they were showing us that he had probably had prior possessions and such. But people were saying "well, if he paid for that crime and we're only judging on this crime then I wouldn't consider those."

I went by the new El Chilito downtown and got some tacos for lunch that were good. I called M&M only to find that she was still on the road. She had spent a night in Dallas. I don't know how anyone can stand to be away from their pets and home for three weeks. I could not do it. MAYBE if I were with Mark on a fabulous trip in Europe or something, but not just for work and such. I am a homebody.

So I should have her back today and should get a paycheck. Mark sold some drums and got paid and we have a little money back in the bank for today anyway. Hopefully, there is more on the way and we'll thrive and prosper our way into the new year.

I felt like crap all day yesterday afternoon. I'm glad I didn't feel this bad at the courthouse. In the afternoon I started feeling crampy and just bad. I took ibuprofen and suffered until 4. I came home and took Midol and took a nap and felt somewhat better after, but still washed out and tired. I didn't go to the east side last night. Just stayed in and typed reports and watched Countdown.

Today is Election Day. I have high hopes. I have a fear that something will go terribly wrong and Obama will not be elected president, but I have prayed and prayed that whatever happens is God's will so I will try to accept it if it doesn't happen. But since it isn't even close, like it has been in the last two elections, I expect he will win it handily, but it is never sure until it is over. I really hope he has 8 glorious years in office and we get on better terms with foreign countries, the war in Iraq ends, bin fucking laden is captured and crucified, children get education and healthcare, and we all get some healthcare reform so that I don't lose my insurance with the loss of a job.

My cousin's service is Thursday so I will drive up and back that day, I expect. I am debating going to Dallas for my nephew's birthday celebration. I just don't know if I want to do that or not. Mark will be very busy this weekend, so I could. We'll see. Again, I'm a homebody who likes to be home!

But now this homebody needs to drag her ass to the shower and get ready for work. Boss is in town! (Except I know she has pilates at noon and won't be in until 1 p.m.)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland