Monday, Nov. 03, 2008 7:19 am

Jury Duty

I'm up really early to go do jury duty. I don't mind being up this early (now that the sun is up because of daylight savings ending this weekend) and I am fantasizing about being up this early to go to work for the UT Press. Saturday I saw an old friend that once worked for them. Convoluted, but it made me feel like I had an "in" and could work there some day as a proofreader.

I am very sad and still in shock to find that my cousin Marshall died last night. His wife Bobby died in July and he has declined rapidly without her. I guess I'm glad he is not going to be sad and living alone, probably in a nursing home, but it is still such a surprise to have them both gone so quickly. Hers was unexpected, too (to us, probably not so much to their kids). This is four family deaths within the past year, just in THAT family. Five if I include Mark's. I have such mixed feelings about Marshall now, though, after our political discussion at Mom's birthday. I don't talk politics, but Mother had laughed with everyone that since I was unemployed I was going Democrat. Marshall came to ask me if I was going to vote for that n----- and I was shocked. He insisted there would be rioting in the street if he wins because the blacks would be expecting to have everything they ever wanted now that one of theirs was in the White House. As much as I know my father once thought the same way, he at least got over it and either didn't believe it anymore or got smart enough not to say things like that in public. Sad that he is gone, but not sad that distorted views like that are also going away with time.

I did go to Sweeney Todd Friday night and it was okay. Not great. Jenn was happy I took her and I was glad she had to go to work right after so we could quickly leave and I could go home. I had no trick-or-treaters before I left, but I did see a sweet little girl from 3 doors down that I had never met and talked to her and her folks in the driveway.

Saturday I went to the book festival. I listened to the guy that wrote a book about my old company. I need to read the book. He was supposed to be matched up with another guy that wrote a more positive book about the same subject, but that guy chickened out (or was told to not come by the company, I expect). That made it less interesting without that conflict. I saw Ellie briefly there at the Capitol. I ate lunch at the Capitol cafeteria, which was fun. THAT made me fantasize about working over there!

I went to see my favorite author Sarah speak. Her session was packed so I was glad I got there early. Then I saw an old friend that I knew at the station and got to catch up with her. She worked for the UT press then and is now back with Random House. She was a very cool girl and I would like to stay friends with her. I hope she gets in touch. I sent her an email last night. She was with her counterpart from the UT press and I said I wanted to proofread for them and they acted like that was a possibility to freelance and do that. That would be cool (though I really want a real job and security again, too).

Texas hardly showed up for their game against Tech Saturday night so I did a lot of cussing at the TV. Mark even watched it with me, which was so much fun. I wish we could do that more often. Texas ended up getting ahead at the very end, but Tech came back and won and deserved it. Yesterday I watched Dallas, but it was so stupidly sick and lousy that I quit watching. Romo, oh, Romo, where for art thou Romo? (he's out with a broken pinkie).

I'm worrying that my November income is going to totally suck. First, jury duty will take away some possibly. Now a funeral to go to, too. And Thanksgiving cuts out two days at least. We'll see what work there is to do now that M&M is back in town.

Meanwhile, I must get dressed and see what morning rush hour traffic is like and go to the courthouse.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland