Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007 11:58 am

Saturday awaits

Mark has just left for Galveston and I just got off the phone with his Mom. She called to relay some good news about her dear friend that has cancer. Still pretty bad news about her husband, though. He is losing blood and requiring transfusions and the other option to do some exploratory scoping would require anesthesia and they just don't know if he could survive that. He's very old and his time is short. I hate for him to feel bad.

I went out last night to the record company's third birthday. The owner was very sweet and I got to meet his wife, too. I enjoyed Brian Keane's set immensely. I love his songs. I stayed through a little of Macon Greyson, but then went on home. Not feeling too much in the party mood and I was there alone.

I did sort through a lot of pictures yesterday, but had trouble deciding where they belong. Frustrating. I will do some more organizing today before the UT game.

Yesterday I didn't even know who UT was playing or when. I sure have separated myself from news and information that I used to know so automatically.

I saw that men's basketball is about to start. I wonder if anyone thinks of that up at the station. I guess they'll figure it out. I may have to tune to the football game online today and see if they remembered to take the game offline. I don't want to be like Cotton and continue to monitor the station moment by moment, but I would like to hear some fuckups. I wish I could see, in person, some of the chaos. Oh well, just like when Cotton left in a huff, we did carry on with some things slipping through the cracks. Didn't mean we didn't continue. But, yet... Miss A said that my Sunday night program slot was still empty when she left the station yesterday. I'll be tuned in tomorrow night at 7 to see if it falls apart or not...

Pettiness, bitterness. I'm full of it!

I am grateful for my health though. My poor friend, young intern Joey, got burned chemically out on the rig in the ocean. He is in tremendous pain and I feel so bad for him. He said he can hardly walk or sit. He told me he was fine, not to worry, but this sounds serious. I hope it doesn't have more internal repercussions.

Today is open ended. The book festival is in town, but I don't think I'll go. I think it would make me sad. I am going to do some CONCRETE things like clean the bathrooms and the kitchen and vacuum, and some less visible things like get a folder together for the job search and work some more on genealogy. There is football at 230 and probably some other good games I haven't thought about. The day is all mine. (and that is the most scary thing of all!)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland