November 03, 2002 11:52 pm

Priorities

How have we already gotten so far into November? I saw the Austin Journalers today and Jette brought up the Holidailies, where some of us attempted to update daily last December. Is it already time for the Holidailies again? Time certainly does fly.

Well, it didn't fly much over the last two weeks as I waited in limbo for that finally Friday that would tell me my fate concerning the new job. Friday came and went and no word. Not a hint. Tomorrow I will call the boss and say, "Am I supposed to work today?" He had told me to fill in for two weeks. I did. Does he want me back? I'm in WORSE limbo than I was for the two weeks.

I'm also irritated. It seems like less than a vote of confidence if the job is offered to me now. I wonder, too, if they know they want me, but it is easy to allow me to continue at a part-timer's hourly rate at about 30 hours per week (when I'm truly doing a 40 hour job) and with no benefits, than it is to commit to a full salary and the whole shebang. Radio sucks. Corporations suck.

I've been incredibly busy at remotes over the last four days and freezing my ass off for most of them. We did a huge promotion with a car dealership that had me there Thursday during high winds and cold temps, Friday for higher winds, colder temps, and darkness, and today for much more moderate temps and less wind, but the topper of cold rain. I came home Friday after four hours there and it took a solid two hours in a warm house with a fire going and wrapped in a blanket to get the chill off of me. If I'm sick this week I'll know why.

The job has, of course, been the only thing on my mind and the only thing that seemed important to me. That is, until I read my e-mail late Friday night. My old roommate in both Amarillo and Dallas, one of my dear friends, the one who named her baby after me, wrote and reported to a group of us that she has breast cancer. 46 years old. Mother of a 5-year-old. Her e-mail was optimistic and light-hearted, but I took it very hard. I'm glad I got the news by e-mail and not on the phone. I wouldn't have done much for her confidence. Saturday, I re-read the e-mail and calmed myself and called her and had a good talk. She and I are both awfully good and hiding our emotions and, even the four years we lived together, not opening up. It was good to talk to her and I am now also optimistic that Tuesday's lumpectomy will be the beginning of a long remission.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland