1999-12-01 00:22:58

Mexcian joints

Wow, it is weird to see that today is December First already (just after midnight). I've got a lot to get done in the next three weeks, including things I haven't gotten to in the last six months.

I am drinking my eggnog tonight so I am in the festive holiday spirit. Or is it just the rum I added?

I feel stupid. I'd just gotten all prepared to write when the computer just up and dies. Not like a power outage but like a surge or a glitch in the power supply and the monitor looks dead and then the hard drive starts making a horrible sound. Then I realize the toe of my shoe on my crossed leg is resting squarely on the reset button on the computer. Oooops.

Mind-numbingly slow night at work. And if my job is slow it is completely my fault. Having been a disc jockey forever I know that you have these nights. In "real" radio you just make it through and hope to have a better shift tomorrow. You have one sucky night. When you are recording eight or ten shows in a day it gets much worse. I was sucky over and over and over and in many places. Our computer at work went down at one point so we were unable to work for thirty minutes or so and that slowed down the enthusiasm even more. There was a lot more I should have done tonight but it was already 11 and I said, "Screw you guys, I'm going home."

I bought some supplies for a craft project. I'm going to make some candles and use some cups and saucers I don't use anymore for the holder and make the candle look and smell like coffee. Now, isn't that clever? I hope I follow through and get it done. I have a tendency to start and stop projects. The sewing machine and material for the second curtain in the bathroom have been out in the guest room for more than a month. Drummerboy once said he hoped I didn't get tired of him as quickly as I get tired of all my hobbies. It's not really that I get tired, I just lose some enthusiasm or other things come along. I guess it takes all kinds to make a world, but I wish I did have some of his drive and stick-to-itiveness. He could decide tonight to build an extension on the house and he would go to the hardware store first thing in the morning and he would not stop until it was built and painted and carpeted and probably furnished. It is an amazing thing to see. I'm eating, napping, reading, watching TV, while he diligently pursues a goal to its conclusion. Funny, isn't it, that I'm the one that has a Masters degree and he never went to college? I guess he would have gotten a degree if he had any reason to want one. He would have pursued it just as diligently.

+++++++++++++++++++

I did advance a little toward a goal today. When we moved to Austin I set a quest for myself. I want to eat at every Mexican joint and taqueria on South First Street between the river and Slaughter. I think there are about 13 but it may have gone up a couple since we moved down. I've eaten at over half of them. Saturday we ate at Mercedes Martinez next to Jovita's. Not one I'll make an effort to return to. The food was good but I wasn't all that hungry (not their fault) but the ambience was lacking. Having Celine Dion and Phil Collins playing too loud on the stereo isn't conducive to digesting a chile relleno. Today, I finally went into the Mexican Bakery. I just bought some gingerbread men and a donut. They weren't great but they were okay. The gingerbread men were pretty good. Not sweet enough and a little tough. They had a zillion kinds of pastries and cookies and I'm sure some were Mexican specialties (like the sugar skulls) but I don't know enough about Mexican cuisine to know what they represented. I've heard they have good cakes for birthdays, etc. I liked the interior of the place so I will have to try it again. Eventually I will have to make a list of the places I've eaten on First and give my thumbs up or down. So far, I think my favorite is Polvos but I've been to Evita's Botanitas twice so I obviously like it, too. When I am through with First I am going to eat at all the Mexican joints on Congress and then on East Sixth. I've already eaten at some of them so I have a head start.

And I'm wondering why I've gained weight since I moved to Austin. There aren't enough trips around Town Lake to wear off a good plate of enchiladas.

++++++++++++++++++

I sent my sister a quote today. I wrote and told her that "sniff, sniff, this was so sweet, that I wanted to embroider it on a pillow for Christmas for her but I couldn't wait, I had to go ahead and tell her about it." The quote: God made us Sisters, but Prozac made us Friends.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland