Saturday, Nov. 29, 2008 10:27 am

Thanksgiving

I"m just getting awake after a good night of sleep. Last night I was totally worthless. While Mark went to play a gig at Sullivan's with Seth, I just sat. I did finish my Willie Nelson book, which was excellent, and I watched TV. Couldn't get the kitchen cleaned up, didn't write a thing, just sat. I thought about watching a pay per view movie, and I watched several previews, but couldn't get motivated to PAY $5 for a movie that I might not finish. So I watched lame Boston Legals instead.

Today I am going out to the Joe Ely show we have at the Lost Pine. I am dreading it in some ways and I need to get over that feeling. I feel like someone will need a check from us, or things won't be right and they'll refuse to play or something. I'm sure none of that will happen. I do need to call M&M in a bit just to get some reassurance about the check business. The hotel lady has called this morning already and it seems okay. I hope it is just a fun afternoon, a beautiful day, and then a kick ass show that will be memorable. I haven't seen Joe with his own band in a long time.

I really wish I could muster up some ambition and enthusiasm this morning. Maybe I can get Mark to go for a walk with me. I would like to decorate the house a little bit. Maybe at least get some stuff down from the attic. I need, desperately, need to clean this office. I want my car to be clean and relaxing. I want my house to be pristine and comfortable and pleasant. I want I want I want. I want to get my genealogy more and more organized and get it so that someone can just pick something up and READ about our family instead of wondering what all these boxes are full of. And I need to do mother's Christmas cards, too. We took family pictures Thursday so she could have a good Christmas card.

I guess I should write about our Thanksgiving. It was absolutely lovely. The only possible thing that could have made it better would have been if the day could have been a lot longer so it could have included a nap and a walk and more time with everyone and more time to digest the food and go back for more!

Wednesday night Mark had a gig. I baked pies. I had already prepared the dough for about 8 crusts, not knowing if I would need top crusts for some of the pies. Then his mom said she would make apple, so I made 2 pecan and 2 pumpkin and 1 turtle pie (the experiment). The chocolate of the turtle pie went over and then under the crust and made it a mess, so it wasn't all that good and was too rich. The others were fabulous. I even made each boy a little casserole/pie of their own. I don't know how those tasted. I left them.

Mack had everything beautiful and ready to go go when we got over there with Mark's mom. We had arrived at her house at 3 a.m. and were exhausted. I got up and made the dressing in the morning and put it on to bake before we went. We went and ate and watched football. Mark took his Mom home after the game and he stayed and napped at her house. I stayed and watched more football and drank some wine and we watched the funny Colbert Christmas with the family and laughed a lot. Then the boys took me home. It was really nice.

Yesterday we slept late and then left her house by noon. It was rainy and foggy. We drove through a little of Oak Cliff just for fun (I love that part of town) and then ate a fabulous open faced roast beef sandwich on the square in Waxahachie. I was feeling miserable all day (PMS) and needed comfort food. Home by 5 and we napped a little before he left for his gig.

Today, Joe. Tomorrow, we might got see The Godfather at the Paramount. That would be a fun adventure.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland