Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2006 10:59 am

That's Why They Call It Work

I am frustrated with work. But then a scan of the want ads makes me know I am tied to this job, for better or worse, until, well, it gets really worse. The income keeps going down down down, but it is still higher than anything else I could probably get anywhere else when my only skill is talking and my ability for that is going down down down. sigh.

My co-worker that is supposed to be taking the job the Cotton had is dragging his feet and not doing any part of it until he has to. I was hoping he might begin doing some of the other parts even though he hasn't moved to the biggest part of it yet. I can see that that isn't going to happen. I wish they had hired someone from outside that was eager and hungry and wanted to live up there like Cotton did.

They've started a new way of telling us what our talent fees for the month are and I'm afraid that is going to cut out some of my money, too, but I can't speak up because I might lose a lot of money I've already been paid. I've been charging two clients $25 for their spots (for two years?) and yesterday the saleswoman said something about their deal if for $20 spots. I don't remember every having heard that and it pisses me off, but, again, I can't argue or I might lose that extra $5 a day I've made for the last two years.

I know work isn't fun for 90% (99%?) of the world, so I can't complain about my little difficulties, but work used to occasionally be fun. I hope it is again soon.

Mark is packing the van and the band will leave in another couple of hours. I will miss him terribly. The house and its contents will sink into filth, I expect, within 24 hours. I probably will, too. Without him to clean up for, what is the point?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland