November 28, 2002 12:10 am

Thanksgiving

I guess it is officially Thanksgiving. And there is finally baking going on in the Pecan household--what else? Pecan pies, of course. Two small ones are baking. I got the only size pie pan the store had. I used to have a huge selection of good Pyrex pie pans but I kept giving them away and now I'm down to one, so I am putting these in foil pans and throwing them away when we're through.

It has been a busy hectic week. The remote I did Saturday was a disaster in a variety of ways, primarily of the disc jockey that was at the station. I put the plan in effect this week to get someone else hired and get her replaced. She is just not all there.

Last week when I went to the therapist I realized that when I leave his office I really need time to sit and reflect and write and think about what we talked about instead of rushing off to the next event. I decided that after today's appointment I would take myself to lunch and relax and do just that. Well, once I overslept this morning and was running around like a maniac, that plan had to go out the window. I rushed off to appointments without even a shower. I needed a haircut so desperately before the holiday I went into two salons begging for a stylist. Finally found one and got a great haircut (Mark thinks it is too short).

Tonight I cooked some soup and then my aunt called and bored me for 40 minutes. I'm sorry, I just don't enjoy talking to her like I once did. It was nice of her to see if we needed a place to go for Thanksgiving, though.

I finally got started on my pies about 11 p.m. When they are done I'm going to bed. I may put off packing until tomorrow. Wouldn't be too much packing since it is only for one night, but since we are going to a funeral Friday I may need to see if I own a dress and hose. I think I have some somewhere in the dark recesses of the closet. Don't tell anybody I wore them, okay? I'm glad this is taking place outside of Travis County.

It is Thanksgiving and I am certainly thankful for SO much more this year than last. Last year I was mostly thankful for the friends I had made in Austin and for their support during my trying times. I had a job last year, but it was not much to be thankful for. This year I feel like I really have it all, the wonderful job, the great husband, the family that is completely functional (except for that aunt, of course), and still the best friends I could ever hope for. This year brought B! to town to be my friend in town as well as long-distance, too. I've got it made. Of course, I worry about saying that too confidently. I'm waiting for something to come along and ruin it.

But, things have come along before to ruin perfect situations and here I am in a better place. Things do have a way of working out eventually.

Blah, blah. Happy Thanksgiving.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland