Sunday, Nov. 27, 2005 3:26 pm

Mo' writing

Beautiful fall colors this year. I was just out a little bit and the reds are really brilliant today. It is windy and blustery outside, but still 85 and almost December. I would like a little bit of chilly weather between now and Christmas.

I was heading toward another day of being home all day long, but I made myself get out and go to a NaNoWriMo write-together at a new coffee shop on Mary and Fifth. Cool little joint. The people were nice enough, especially the moderator, but I couldn't write with the noise. I didn't feel like the talking part of the group either, so I packed up and left after a while. I didn't want to make them feel bad, but figured I would rather leave and get some writing done somewhere else than stay just for their feelings. A lot of people, apparently, are in on the NaNoWriMo thing more as a social outlet and a reason to post on forums than a reason to write 50,000 words.

Mark and the band just arrived home. It will soon be nap time and then tonight I will write some more. It has been eye-opening this month how much I have enjoyed writing, even when there is no real purpose to it. I need to keep that habit up of writing fiction just for the writings sake.

I was thinking about it last night. Isn't it funny that so much that is written in magazines and such about the hobby of writing is about how to sell your writing, not really about the writing itself? Imagine if golf magazines were all about how to turn pro. Or if quilt books and magazines were more about marketing your quilts than making your quilts? I need to concentrate more on the hobby and joy of writing and not think about the end product in a commercial way. I really don't, but when I do I feel deflated because I don't feel like it is commercial. So what difference does it make if it is or it isn't? If I had fun writing it, that's a reason right there.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland