Saturday, Nov. 27, 2004 9:18 am

Post Thanksgiving

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving and I hope you did, too. We had to drive over 9 hours to spend about 18 hours out of town, but I think it was worth it and I'm glad I made Mark do it.

We first went and stayed at his brother's and had a great visit in his beautiful, funky, old house. Then we visited the Grandmother, aunt and cousins for the big meal and saw one little 4-year-old cousin for the first time and caught up with all the others after a too-long absence. Then we stopped by Mark's dad's and visited him and his wife. That family is so funny because they all could have been together on Thanksgiving Day, but they have their grievances and refuse. Oh, they all see each other on other days and aren't really not speaking, they just refuse to do Thanksgiving. Silly, I think. Of course, that was why I wanted us to go back. I didn't want to have that chip on our shoulder forever. And, see that Mark's grandmother is 95 years old, this might be her last Thanksgiving at home... or at all. Who knows.

Yesterday I slept away half of the day recovering from the drive (that I didn't even have to do, Mark drove it all). I finally got up and out and mailed two baby presents and got a haircut and a pedicure. I even went by the station and got one little chore off of my plate for today. Not a hugely productive day, but those were things nagging at me.

Today will be very busy. Mark's gone to work on the parade, so he was up and out really early. I'm going to work to be on the air. Then I'm going to go see a friend up north and have lunch. Then visit my little grandmother and wish her a happy Thanksgiving. Then maybe a nap? I hope so. Then Bruce and Kelly at the Paramount and maybe Randy and Jack at Stubb's. Busy day and I don't have a date for tonight. I'm trying to drum one up since Mark didn't want to go.

I'd better go on up to the station. I've misplaced my card that allows me access to the building and I'll have to try to find someone to let me in.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland