1999-11-27 23:00:43

Clutter and crap

All I wanted to do tonight was surf the net and clean off the desk and I haven't gotten anywhere near the computer. I've been trying to read all the Dallas and Austin newspapers from the last two weeks so I can throw them away. I threw away a bunch but I still have lots of sections to go. And I haven't gotten near the Chronicle. I wish I could toss them without reading them but I would feel like I missed out on something. Tomorrow we'll get two Sunday papers full of ads and it will start all over again. I won't have time to read them and they'll begin to pile up.

Thanksgiving was much better than expected. I promised my husband (one week after we met!) that I would always spend Thanksgiving with his grandparents. They are the greatest. They have consistently cooked a fabulous meal for their kids, grandkids and great-grandkids despite their advancing years. One year I took all of my family with us and that was a wonderful Thanksgiving. The only downside is that hubby's dad and wife have chosen not to come to the last few Thanksgivings because of a feud with the aunt of the family. They have tried to pass it off as other things but the feud is at the bottom of it. Sadly, this year, Granddad had some small strokes and is no longer the vibrant 90 year old man he was a few months ago. He and Grandmother are now in assisted living. We once again had Thanksgiving at their house with the Aunt preparing a wonderful meal (a surprise in itself). Granddad was quite feeble and not the man he was last year. That was sad but overall the day was very good---except that the Dad and Wife weren't on hand, again. It will probably be our last Thanksgiving with Granddad.

We're out car hunting. May have found a Mazda Navajo we like. Drummerboy quite upset about totaling the truck but I think it will all work out. Buying a car is always a scarey thing. I hope we don't feel cheated when it is all over.

Had a great day shopping at the Sixth Street Victorian Christmas with my friend Perfect C. She is a lot of fun and this was our first real outing together. It is hard to make friends when you get old and I think she might be a good one. She is absolutely gorgeous but she is completely unaware of how much impact her beauty has. We're going to go visit her and her significant other (her POSSLQ--person of opposite sex sharing living quarters) tomorrow. Should be interesting. We have never found a couple that were a good match for both of us. Single people! Relish that fact that you can have all sorts of friends and they don't have to be a couple. It's hard enough single trying to find people that don't have kids or attachments that make it hard to get together. It gets that much harder when you marry.

I'm drinking wine and my mind is going in lots of different directions. I must tackle that desk. I'm just so relieved to not be slaving at the studio over a hot board tonight. I worked until 2 last night. I did 20 shows. That will mean nothing to you but when you consider most disc jockeys do ONE SHOW A DAY and I did 20! you can kind of get an idea of how exhuasted I am. Of course, these shows had no content. I did a bunch of "still have turkey and dressing left over? Happy Thanksgiving!" etc. I flew through them and corrected nothing!

Oh! And I had my first Eggnog Latte at Starbucks. Kramer (again, I'd insert a link if I was thoughtful: www.astrofish.net) has always recommended them. Although I love eggnog it didn't sound all that good to me. He, and others, were absolutely right. They are fabulous. I work in the building with Starbucks. I may have to quit the walk up the street for the Alamocha at Texpresso through Christmas and stick with the Eggnog Latte. Yum.

Back to the newspapers. The floor will be clear before I go to bed tonight!!!!!!!!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland