Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2005 9:37 am

Company arriving

Am I busy or what? I must be. I haven't written in two days. Oh, and I've never mentioned that I am not entering my seventh year of Estoy Nueces. Wow. I haven't looked to see how many entried are in here, but I would guess somewhere between 72 and 5 billion.

No time to worry about stats this week.

Monday I was lolling around the house, considering going and getting a haircute before work, then I realized that I had PLANNED to take my car for a new timing belt and mainitenance before work. Augh! I rushed out of the house and took it to a friend of Mark's that was the nicest guy. They were all super helpful and nice. I'm scared at the cost of all this niceness (along with a new timing belt), but I expect it will be the best deal I could get, plus he gave me a car to drive while mine is in the shop. So that's a hundred bucks worth for free right there. It's just another pile to add to the credit card debt, so why worry about it at Thanksgiving. As a friend said recently about debts, "You either pay them off or you die. What's to worry about?" He has a point.

After I got the rent car I still wanted to get the haircut. But where to go? Since I wanted advice and a whole new style, I didn't want to just go to Fast Freddy's (since it is hard to find English speakers there, although they give great haircuts) or SuperCuts. I went to a place I used to go to on Congress and found out they have been replaced by something more trendy! I went by the one on South Lamar I used to go to (but feel out of place in). They didn't have anyone available for a walk-in, so I forged on. Finally ended up at the Grateful Head, which I've passed a million times. My friend Kitty used to live next door. I walked in and it was meant to be. Cool little old house and arrangement, interesting older man to cut my hair. He gave me a great new shorter haircut and I enjoyed the visit and the experience. Haircuts are so expensive (unless you just run in to the cheap clip places), but when you do get that total attention it is justifiable.

So I got my haircut and was late to work and got there only to work and work and work! And work some more. It is so hard to get enough done to take time off!

I did go to see Mark on the east side Monday night. I went because several women had emailed saying they were going to be going for the first time and I wanted to be there to help them be comfortable. No shows. Oh well. I had fun and there were people there I knew. I didn't stay long. I made yet another trip to the grocery and a big haul. Had to put EVERYTHING away since the maids were coming.

So now Thanksgiving is upon me and I have so much to be thankful for. My sweet husband and my precious kitties, my family and my home. Mom and Dad drove down yesterday. I picked them up at their hotel last night and brought them home and cooked dinner. We watched some TV and then I took them home. They may be over soon and we'll have coffee while I make pies and Chex mix. My sister and her family will drive down this afternoon. I don't know what we'll all eat tonight. I hadn't thought that far ahead (or I'm thinking farther because I know what we'll eat tomorrow, just not tonight).

And I am still writing (this is more a note to self than to you). Up to over 36000 words now, but still wondering what the climax of this book is going to be??

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland