Friday, Nov. 02, 2007 11:29 am

At loose ends

I don't quite know what to do with myself these days. A week or so ago I would be looking at the clock pretty soon and thinking "I've got to get dressed and get to work!" (as you've read here many times). But, now, with an open ended schedule, I need to find some focus and get a plan together, even if the plan is to go for a walk at a certain time or leave the house to DO something, or, probably most important, be looking at job sites and applying and polishing that resume again and again. There's not excuse for not having a customized resume for every job when the tools are right here. I remember when I was looking for work once in Dallas where I had a typist lady type my resume on a really cool typewriter that could SAVE all the typing and then she typed out multiple copies for me, so that they weren't just copied, they were original, typed copies! That was important back in the dark ages of job hunting.

Today I really do want to dismantle this office some and sort through pictures and organize them a bit. I did put up a Day of the Dead altar finally yesterday and I really couldn't find everything I wanted. The pics were in my computer, but I didn't want to print them and I couldn't find the originals.

My little altar is very nice, and all for Daddy this time. It gave me a lot of peace and comfort last night watching the candles burn and thinking about him. One year ago this morning I drove him to the hospital and they did his surgery. It was all downhill from there. It make me so sad. I think these next six weeks are going to be hard.

I went to Target yesterday and the abundance of Christmas that is already on display made me sad, too. Not related to Daddy, I was looking forward to Christmas, but related to how I wanted to really celebrate and decorate this year. Plans sure change in the face of no job. I still hope to decorate and bake, but it will be different without that income. But, on the other hand, there were lots of things I couldn't do before because of time, now I have the time so maybe there will be things I can do time-wise that don't require the money. Maybe this time I really can work with Blue Santa more.

Heard yesterday that my favorite bartender at the Spoke was fired! She's been there like 20 years! Unless they found out she's been stealing all of that time, I can't imagine why they would have fired her. This whole town is going to hell.

My old co-worker, promotions girl, the young one, came over for wine last night and then wouldn't leave! I didn't know if she ever would! I figured since she has a real job she would be gone after a couple of hours but she was here until almost midnight. Gracious! I was so tired and tired of talking! It was pleasant though. I don't think she and I will continue to be friends, we don't have enough in common, but it is nice to still have that gossip-relayer from the office.

I guess I'll tear myself away from the computer and go fix some eggs or something. We could use some lunch.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland