Wednesday, Nov. 02, 2005 10:43 am

Job woes

I was super lazy when I got home last night and didn't write any more on the novel. I did this morning, though, so I am keeping up with it at least. Haven't counted my words lately.

Mark and I went to dinner last night. That was really pleasant. I wish we would do that more often. Just grab a bite to eat. Nothing fancy or pricey. We just went to the Mexican joint by his work and had a shrimp enchilada. It was delicious.

Came home and I did finish most of the clean-up job on the office here. It was getting down to crucial time because my brother-in-law is coming tonight. They had thought they wouldn't come until tomorrow, but now they are going to get free and come on down. Don't know when to expect them, but I'll run the vacuum this morning and get their bath and bed set up. Mark asked this week, "Do all gay couple sleep in the same bed?" I told him I figured it was like all heterosexual couples and it just depends. We laughed and I said, "But, by God, when they are under MY roof they are going to obey MY rules and the ARE going to sleep in the same bed!" They don't have much choice, it is a little house. I guess someone could sleep on the couch if they want, and they would probably be a lot more comfortable than on the futon.

Oh, how things played out at work yesterday. I went straight to the boss's office, but he had to put me off until 2 because he was busy (he said). To give him credit, when 2 did roll around he came and found me and didn't make me come find him again. We talked about my voice, but he was pretty insistent from the first that I give it another day off the air. I expressed my frustration with being off the air and the threat to my job. He was trying to be compassionate, but I just don't trust his sincerity. He offered to go talk to the bigger boss with me if it would set my mind at ease about my job situation, though. He reached across the desk and put his hand on mine and said, "Don't worry." He said he just wanted me to get my voice back stronger before I'm on the air. It was a very frustrating day. I am trying to just live in the moment and not overanalyze what happens next.

We went to bed really late last night and then I was awakened in a most alarming way. Mark had been nice enough to get up and put Nathan out when he was scratching at my eyelids and I was still in a deep doze. Then the LOUDEST crash I've ever heard. Willie, in his exuberance, had jumped to the windowsill in the bathroom and knocked down a candle holder into the bathtub. This candle holder is glass in metal so the metal clanged and the glass just shattered into a million slivers. Mark managed to get the cat out of the tub unscathed and he has cleaned it all up. He was saying "Go back to sleep honey, it's okay." Sure, right, I'll fall right back to sleep after that bomb.

So, Cotton has already called this morning to see how my voice is. Hasn't he learned in two weeks that at this time of the morning I sound great and have no idea if it will last until 7 pm? I'm getting really really tired of him. I'm getting really really irritable with everything because of this, I know.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland