Sunday, Nov. 20, 2011 10:41 am

Yep, Catch-up with the break-in tale

Well, I guess I'm glad to see it has only been 20 days since I posted. I wouldn't have been surprised if it had been a full month.

So what have I done? Mostly I was sick this month, it seems. Nephew #1 came for a wonderful night at a great concert honoring Guy Clark. It was a great night and I was so glad I got to share something like that with him. He was a wonderful date for it. He spent then night and got up early and went back to Waco.

Then I got sick. The excitement and staying up too late with him and drinking wine at the event took my allergies and turned them into something vicious. I struggled through 2 more days at work and then I was in bed for 3 solid days in misery. I was supposed to go up to cousin Amy's to go through pictures, but that canceled on both ends, she had stuff crash in on her, too.

I went back to work and felt miserable for a few more days, but finally came through it. I still have the symptoms, but not the misery. Sneezing and snorting. I think next year we just can't sleep with the windows open.

Then I went to Dallas for nephew #1's birthday. The first I had spent with him in a long time. It was just a quick up Friday and back Saturday trip, but I enjoyed dinner with the family and with my sister's friend from Boston along with the nephew's longtime girlfriend whom we adore. Saturday I spent with mother watching some football and then I went to a winery in Grapevine for a bottle of a friend's new wine, a trip to my client Bass, and then a reminder trip to the Lonesome Dove Cemetery, which remains cool, but also not a "wonderful" cemetery... too bare and open. And they've changed the name of the "Dove Church" from Lonesome Dove. I know churches change with the times, but I think the charm of that church is totally its heritage, but maybe I wouldn't feel that way if I went there or lived close by and wasn't related.

So on that Friday night while I was gone, Mark went to a show and our house had an attempted break-in. Quite "alarming" and the alarm did scare the hoodlums off. They were amateurs, but in their few seconds of attempts they managed to slit the screen on the porch and ruin the back door. We have beefed up security and put in an expensive door, requiring tile work, too, and we are in it for over $2000 so they have robbed us of $2000 and peace of mind all in one whack. That sucks.

These drugs I am taking now should just be called "Fuckitol." I just don't feel the anxiety or compulsion to do lots of things that need to be done, including things at work and paying bills! Not good at all. I am trying to get it all under control, but don't know how successful I am. I need to deposit 2 checks online and they've been here by me for 2 days already.

I also resigned the book club. We met here on Wednesday night. I had to cancel it a week earlier because I was too sick to get the house cleaned and buy groceries and cook. With the Fuckitol I wasn't much better the next week, but I did cook and Mark was sweet enough to clean the house nicely. Only 3 of the girls came (missing M&M and my PR friend from the neighborhood). They politely ate about a half a bowl of chili each. My pie didn't work at all and was soup instead of pie. And Frenchy ran things and dominated the conversation for most of the 2 hours. I heard the story of her father's death for about the tenth time. I told them I resigned because I was tired of reading books I didn't like (Confederacy of Dunces put me over the edge). Now they are trying to accommodate me and promising we'll just discuss whatever it is and read books and drink wine since wine was supposed to be the focus in the first place. But I hate to say the elaborate dinners are a problem, too, because I know the girls that have them love having them and are good at dinner parties. I do think my anxiety is better to attend them with the Fuckitol, but I don't want to have to go through the anxiety of throwing a party again, no matter how much they might try to convince me that I can do something simple or they will bring the stuff or whatever they might say. I told them to let me lay out for the holidays and the January get together and then we can revisit. We'll see how much I feel left out of things in January and then I'll decide.

I had a GREAT day of genealogy yesterday and made a ton of discoveries about my Wright family that I didn't know. I found out when and where they were married and where she is buried and found their family in an 1850 census in Texas and think I found when they came to Texas and found out a lot more about most of the children in the family, including a sister that married an Indian fighter that wrote a 100-page book about the county and the Indian fighters and depredations there. I was SUPER proud to find her and him because it really took puzzle pieces to put it together since she was listed as "Polly" in one place (a name I certainly didn't have) and as "Mrs. Deaton" in another (another name I didn't have), but I put it all together. She and her husband had the first marriage license in the county, though the first wedding went to another aunt and uncle of mine instead.

And today I am going to cousin Amy's to look at pictures and watch football and laugh. That should be a fun diversion and I'll come home with family treasures!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland