Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2003 9:14 am

Boring recap of a weekend

I just read a diary entry by mom-on-roof at diaryland. I'm lame, I'm completely unhumorous. That girl is funny in a unforced, Erma Bombeckian way.

Remember Erma? My family loved her. She channeled my mother and we read her columns out loud around the dinner table and laughed.

I started a long update the other day and then hit two keys that hate each other and they killed the entry. So I really don't know where I left off.

Disaster of a Friday night at our new music series at the Alligator. Jack played and the sound was crappy and then he started getting shocked and the band started getting shocked and everything stopped at about 45 minutes into it. What a shame. I hope they have had an electrician this week so Wayne "The Train" doesn't get zapped on stage this Friday.

After that gig I went to see Mark at his gig. I cannot reveal the name of this club because it would be a shame if it became trendy. It is a black club on the east side and it is in a totally different world!! I've been in black clubs before, but never one plucked straight from the back roads of Mississippi and that's what this one felt like (except the clients were not downtrodden sharecroppers, they were consistent with the Austin levels of income and education on the average). I've never seen beer posters that have black models and celebrate Juneteenth, but I have now. And I've had catfish to die for! Our of this world HOT, crisp, cornmeal battered, salty catfish. Man, oh, man. And I especially loved the sign by the pool tables that said "Marijuana Smoking Prohibitied. Violators will be prosecuted."

Felt crappy Saturday. Don't know if I was hung over, food poisoning, or what. Still went by the cafe to see a guy I've been needing to see, but it wasn't a good time to see him, he had flu and small band, etc. Finished the Texas game there and bit my fingers to the nub until they beat Tech in the last minute and almost lost it in the last minute, too. Went on to the Spoke and met up with Troy. Saw other friends there, too, but still felt crappy so I went on home.

Nice party Sunday at Devota's. Mark reluctantly went, though I didn't beg him, too. He felt very out of place and didn't know anyone. I told him I felt the same way, but it was a nice party with great food, nice people and a cool South Austin vibe and you need to expose yourself to such things. He wasn't convinced, but I'm glad we went.

Yesterday was a pissy day and I don't want to even go into it. One of those, nothing really wrong, just pissed off at the world and every little thing that could get in my way, did.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland