Saturday, Nov. 17, 2007 12:22 pm

I've been busy

Time sure has flown by this week. Really. People keep asking if I have had interviews, etc., but I've hardly had time to even apply for jobs. But, no, no one has called as of yet.

I have spent a TON of my time this week working on a new website. I'm very proud of myself. I have wanted a website and my own domain for years now and have asked for help and waited around for someone else to do it for me or walk me through it. I haven't found a soul that would do it (even for money, seriously!) so I finally just looked into it more thoroughly myself and did it! I am not going to put the web address here (I don't know why really) but it is the name I use on the radio, first and last, and then Austin.com Long, but it states what it is. It is me talking about Austin's music scene. I really think there is a niche for a good calendar of our kind of music. But I truly do need to get a real web person to show me some more things and make a template that works better. But for now I did it all and it is up and getting a couple of hundred hits when I promote it, so it is started. I want to add more things to it so there are more reasons to go to it daily, not just for the calendar. Lots more to think about, but the first step is taken.

I saw an old friend when I was in Amarillo and he really lit the fire about the website. He said I need to keep my name alive and associated with Texas county music and put my name on everything I do. My persona really lends itself better to calling my site "the Texas calendar" or somesuch, but he says I've got to put my name on it, so it is all over that puppy.

Tonight I am playing accordion with Kevin at the Nutt. Kevin called me while Mom and I were shopping in Amarillo. She was SO impressed that he just called me out of the blue. I sort of was, too, since he doesn't do it often. He had not gotten my email where I asked to play, so I asked and he said yet.

Mark is doing the America gig at the Paramount tonight. I would like to see that show, too. I loved those guys in high school and saw them play once (as you will read if you go to my calendar). I've been listening to their greatest hits this morning.

I did have dinner and a glass of wine with Ellen on Thursday night while Mark was in Fredericksburg. That was pleasant. We are of the same age and both have this radio history, but not a lot else in common. I enjoy her company, though. I feel sorry for her with no family here, but I guess she has created a family for herself. I wish she and our old IT would get together. I think they do stuff, but I don't think they "date." (does anyone date anymore?)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland