Thursday, Nov. 16, 2006 1:34 pm

Another surgery

Dad is back in surgery in 25 minutes. I wish I were there. They are going to do a tracheostomy to help him breathe, but free up his mouth (he still won't be able to talk, though), and put in a feeding tube to the stomach because he needs more nutrition than they can feed him through an IV. Poor Dad. I hope this does help him get stronger and have more lung power and get out of the hospital soon, but it just seems to be piling on problems.

I'm feeling down and flu-y this morning. I had thought I made it through the crisis of a cold with Vitamin C and Echinacea, but I had a mindblowing headache last night and now I just feel beat. I've been taking it easy, working at home, but now I need to get up to the station to do my show.

Things changing at the station. The announcement finally came this morning about who is buying us and they are selling about 450 stations that aren't in the Top 100 markets. That should be good for radio in general, but sure hurts a lot of my friends that voice track in those stations. No telling how long it will take for them to spin off. I don't lose anything.

Our stations are cutting back on VT payments, I hear, so I've decided if they cut my VT pay by 20%, as I've heard they've done in other places, I will politely decline and see if I can find another way to fill that gap. Radio sucks right now.

We do have a replacement for Cotton, apparently. It is my good friend and co-worker that needs a good moniker here. I believe I will call him Laser. He has been really reluctant to take this job, and I don't blame him, but he thinks he'll get stuck in the other role if he doesn't accept this promotion and act happy about it. Poor guy, he has been sort of blackmailed into this job and his last one and that isn't the way you should have to take work. I'm sure he is losing some money in this sale, too.

I had a nice dinner at Double M's house last night. She is just so classy and the whole atmosphere is so relaxing there. I need to achieve that more. She had her gas logs going so I came home and lit mine and discovered we don't have any anymore! We have the gas, just not the logs. We must get them replaced. Mark came in and said "How pathetic is this? Gas, but no logs!"

Super weird remote yesterday at an oil change place with musicians that were going to play but waited until we were through. But it was their money paying for the remote so I just let them make the call. It was all very weird. Glad it was over. I was supposed to have Junior Brown on the show tomorrow, but that has gotten weird and I won't have him. I hope I don't have to have anybody.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland