Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2005 11:01 am

Eastside fun

Sunday I spent the day hosting a birthday event at the cafe with a lot of music types, industry people, listeners, everyone. I thought it was a fun day and it went pretty quickly. I had a job to do so that helped in a lot of ways. My voice was getting more and more pitchy as the night went on. I hated that, but when I talk above a certain level, it happens.... a lot. The music was good, but Jack wasn't able to make it and that's who I wanted to see, dangit. The last band played a lot longer than I think they were supposed to. They were good, of course, but I was tired so I finally gave in and went home. Got home and just collapsed. I was so tired from all the standing and walking in boots and I coughed and coughed. I just was wiped out. Fortunately, much better then next morning.

Last night I took a friend to see Mark at his eastside club. This girl is more a friend of a friend and she and her military husband are moving to New Orleans. It was already in the works and they closed on their house their the week Katrina hit. Fortunately, they didn't have much damage and can still move in. She says that now is a fabulous time to visit New Orleans because the French Quarter is operating, but the streets are clean and it is safe and there are no heroin addicts hanging around or begging for money! There has not been a murder in New Orleans in the last month or so.

We had a great time at the club. The girls were amazed at the people watching and the place was packed. And before the night ended, three folks from Asleep at the Wheel came in. Dave had never seen Mark play and was very impressed, which made me very proud. I need to make an effort to go out there more often (and, hopefully, drink less... I'm feeling a little slow this morning).

I did write before I went out there. I'm almost at 23000, which is still a long way from where I want to be, but I got a lot down last night that began propelling the story forward. If I hadn't had the commitment to take the girls to the club I might have written another 3000. But then, if I hadn't had that commitment to force me to get started and get something going, I might not have written any.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland