Monday, Nov. 15, 2004 11:12 am

Another bit of sad news

I'm going to try to get back into this daily routine of writing, even when I feel like there isn't much to say.

There is this morning, sadly. While we're dealing with my dearest cousin's cancer (she's through with the two weeks of radiation and now will continue chemo)... Mark heard from his dad last night that his stepsister (who was my friend before I ever met him) has lymphoma. There is lots to be determined: What kind of lymphoma, is it treatable, etc., but it is sad news no matter how you look at it. She just graduated with her PhD from UT a few years ago and is now teaching at a prestigious university in DC. She had her first baby this summer and life is really really good for her and her husband now. She's a hard driving woman and I know she'll take this head on, but it is sad. Her poor mother, my friend and now step-mother-in-law (honestly, I liked her better just as a friend) had to go through her own husband's cancer and death and I feel so bad for her having to see this with her daughter. Very frightening.

I visited my family over the weekend. Mom and Dad and I sat and went through a big box of pictures that a cousin sent me. These are pictures that are really really OLD... many at least 100 years old. They need restoration and identification and preservation. But they are amazing to study. You wonder if pictures you take today will be studied with such fervor 100 years from now. Will people be laughing at our styles and colors or, like we were yesterday, commenting how prosperous we must be and how beautiful. Ha, I have a feeling that may not be part of their conversation with they see me in jeans and t-shirts and scraggly hair.

This is the last full week before the holidays hit full force. It is already busy. We're having dinner with a friend tomorrow night. I am so excited. We just do not socialize with other people as a couple and I hope this all happens as plans. She is a woman I think is super cool and I am anxious to see how she lives at home.

Thursday I have a couple of events I could go to and want to go to, but don't have to go to. One is the Doug Day at Antone's, which I will be promoting on the air that day. And then Double D is playing in town, too, so I am sure I'll swing up by there and say hello and get a sweet kiss and hug.

I'm sure there is more for me this week, but I'm still kind of in a fog, having missed out on my quiet weekend that involves some planning for the week.

Now I need to get the house straightened a bit for the maid to really clean it and tonight I will luxurate in my wonderfully clean home.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland