1999-11-15 23:47:59

Post-bummed

Yesterday wasn't really as bummed out as I may have appeared to make it. I had surreptitiously invited friends to come over for the Cowboy game and dinner. I didn't tell the Drummerboy because he would have said, "Oh, no, let's wait until ____________" The blank is always filled with a different excuse, such as getting the house fixed up, getting the carpet cleaned, getting the patio done, etc. I didn't tell him until Sunday morning and he still managed to veto the Cowboy game. It all ended up well when our friends and their sweetest baby in the world came and we visited and went to dinner and had a great Sunday night.

The Cowboy game did bum me out as I sat there watching it alone. I ended up watching a lot of football games in my life at my sister's or Mom's and always anticipated that when I was married I would have a husband to watch them with. D-boy will sit down if there is an important game on or nothing else to do but he'd rather be doing something else most of the time.

Odd. My sister married a European and thought she had cleverly bypassed the American obsession with sports. Her husband played soccer and tennis but wasn't interested in televised sports. Until they married. Suddenly he becomes an avid football fan, must watch every tennis match that is televised and when it comes to World Cup Soccer---fuhgetaboutit!!! He's into it. I, on the other hand, marry a manly man born and raised in Texas that should be a diehard Cowboy fan and that's what I want, and I get a husband that would rather reroof the garage than stay inside and watch football. Sigh. And, yes, when I was single I would have made cheese dip and TV Snacks and drank a bottle of wine, too, if I felt like it. Now I can't invite over friends and am inhibited from eating and drinking. I sure don't want to be single again, but it's interesting how it's like so many things in life, marriage might solve some of the problems of single life (taking care of mice, for instance), improves some things you wouldn't even think about (....errr...I can't think of a good example....) and some things are the same as they were, just different, like watching a football game alone.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland